Certificates of compliance and certificates of existence

At some point, a supplier, a banker or another party could ask you to provide a certificate of compliance, a certificate of existence or both. These certificates are often needed to support a loan request or to provide assurance to a potential investor that a corporation has not been dissolved.

Certificate of compliance

A certificate of compliance is issued by Corporations Canada to show that a corporation:

  • exists under the Canadian Business Corporations Act (CBCA), meaning that the corporation has not been dissolved, amalgamated into another corporation, or discontinued so that it is governed by different legislation
  • has filed the required annual returns with Corporations Canada
  • has paid all required fees.

Certificate of existence

A certificate of existence indicates that a corporation existed as of a specified date (for ex., November 1, 2014). In other words, the certificate states that on the specified date, the corporation was not dissolved, amalgamated into another corporation, or discontinued and no longer governed by the CBCA.

Corporations Canada can also issue a certificate of existence for a specific time period (for ex., between January 1, 2014 and November 1, 2015) if the corporation was not dissolved, discontinued or amalgamated at any point during that period.

A certificate of existence does not certify that a corporation has sent all the required documents to Corporations Canada or that it has paid all required fees.

Requesting a certificate

Any person can request a certificate of compliance or a certificate of existence for a business corporation. The request does not have to come from the corporation itself.

Corporations Canada offers several ways to request a certificate of compliance and a certificate of existence. Note that you will have to pay a fee (see Services, fees and turnaround times – CBCA).

Corporate name change – Certificate of existence

If a corporation has previously changed its name, the certificate of existence will show the current corporate name even though it might have existed under a different name during part of the time period covered by the certificate of existence.

Issuance date

The certificate of compliance or the certificate of existence will be dated as of the day Corporations Canada issues the certificate. The certificate cannot have a date prior to its issuance. The issuance date might not be the date on which the request is received by Corporations Canada.

Failure to meet certificate requirements

If the corporation does not meet Corporations Canada's requirements for issuing the requested certificate, Corporations Canada will send the applicant a notice of refusal indicating the reasons why the certificate cannot be issued.

Date modified:

Certificats de conformité et certificats d'existence

À un moment donné, un fournisseur, un banquier ou une autre partie peut vous demander de fournir un certificat de conformité, un certificat d'existence, ou les deux. Souvent, ces certificats sont exigés pour faire une demande de prêt ou fournir une assurance à un investisseur potentiel qu'une société n'est pas dissoute.

Certificat de conformité

Le certificat de conformité est émis par Corporations Canada et indique qu'une société :

  • existe en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur les sociétés par actions (LCSA), c'est-à-dire que la société n'est pas dissoute, ne s'est pas fusionnée avec une autre société ou ne s'est pas prorogée (exportation), faisant en sorte que la société est devenue régie par une autre loi
  • a déposé auprès de Corporations Canada les rapports annuels exigés
  • a acquitté les frais prescrits.

Certificat d'existence

Le certificat d'existence indique qu'une société existait à une date précise (p. ex., le 1er novembre 2014). En d'autres mots, le certificat indique qu'à une date précise, la société n'était pas dissoute, ne s'était pas fusionnée avec une autre société ou ne s'était pas prorogée (exportation), faisant en sorte que la société est devenue régie par une autre loi.

Corporations Canada peut aussi émettre un certificat d'existence pour une période de temps précise (p. ex., entre le 1er janvier 2014 et le 1er novembre 2015) en autant que la société n'était pas dissoute et qu'elle ne s'est pas fusionnée ou prorogée (exportation) à un moment donné au cours de cette période.

Le certificat d'existence n'atteste pas qu'une société a déposé tous les documents requis auprès de Corporations Canada ou qu'elle a payé tous les frais requis.

Faire une demande de certificat

Toute personne peut faire une demande de certificat de conformité ou de certificat d'existence pour une société par actions. La demande ne doit pas nécessairement provenir de la société même.

Corporations Canada propose diverses méthodes pour faire une demande de certificat de conformité et de certificat d'existence. Notez que vous devrez payer des frais (voir Services, frais et délais d'exécution – LCSA).

Changement de dénomination sociale – Certificat d'existence

Lorsque la dénomination de la société a été modifiée antérieurement, le certificat d'existence indiquera la dénomination sociale actuelle même si elle existait sous une dénomination différente au cours de la période spécifique pour laquelle le certificat d'existence est émis.

Date d'émission

Le certificat de conformité ou le certificat d'existence portera la date du jour de son émission par Corporations Canada. Le certificat ne peut pas porter une date antérieure à la date d'émission. Cette date d'émission pourrait ne pas être la date à laquelle la demande de certificat est reçue par Corporations Canada.

Certificat qui ne satisfait pas les exigences

Si la société ne satisfait pas les exigences de Corporations Canada pour l'émission du certificat demandé, Corporations Canada enverra au demandeur un avis de refus indiquant les raisons pour lesquelles le certificat ne peut pas être émis.

Date de modification :