Introduction

The Canada Not-for-profit Corporations Act

The new Canada Not-for-profit Corporations Act (NFP Act) establishes a new set of rules for federally incorporated not-for-profit corporations in Canada. These new rules will replace Part II of the Canada Corporations Act (old Act), the law that has governed federal corporations for nearly a century. The rules under the NFP Act are modern, flexible and more suited to the needs of the not-for-profit sector.

What are the benefits of the Not-for-profit Act?

Federal not-for-profit corporations benefit from:

  • A clear set of rules that govern the internal affairs of federal not-for-profit corporations
  • Less red tape with simplified processes
  • More flexibility to make fundamental changes, such as amalgamations, that were not permitted under the old Act
  • A more objective standard for directors in carrying out their duties and responsibilities that will reassure individuals who decide to be on a board of directors.

Do these new rules apply immediately?

No. The NFP Act does not automatically apply to existing corporations. Instead, every existing federally incorporated not-for-profit corporation will have to take action to make the transition to the NFP Act. Until that transition is made, the rules under the old Act still apply.

What is the transition process?

The corporation must replace its letters patent, supplementary letters patent (if any) and by-laws with new charter documents. This means that you need to submit articles of continuance to obtain a Certificate of Continuance as well as create and file new by-laws. The articles and by-laws must comply with the NFP Act. These charter documents set out the primary rules governing the corporation.

This guide will assist you in making the transition.

Will the transition affect the registered charity status of my corporation?

Possibly. If your corporation is or intends to become a registered charity under the Income Tax Act, it is strongly recommended that you consult the Charities Directorate of the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) during the transition process (go to www.cra-arc.gc.ca/charities or call 613-954-0410 or toll free at 1-800-267-2384). The Charities Directorate will provide you with valuable information about the transition that is specific to registered charities, particularly with respect to:

  • the statement of purpose
  • requirements for the number of directors
  • non-profit clauses and clauses related to the remuneration of directors
  • the requirement to file documents with CRA after the transition process is complete.

Consulting with the Charities Directorate in advance will help ensure that your corporation maintains its registered charity status.

Are there fees?

No. Corporations Canada does not charge a fee to apply for a Certificate of Continuance and to file by-laws.

Is there a deadline for making the transition?

A not-for-profit corporation must make the transition by October 17, 2014.

What happens if a corporation does not make the transition?

Corporations that do not make the transition by the deadline will be assumed to be inactive and will be dissolved. For registered charities, dissolution could lead to the revocation of their registration as a charity, which would result in the corporation having to pay revocation tax equal to 100% of the value of their remaining assets.

Note:

Any information provided by Corporations Canada, including this guide, is not intended to be a substitute for legal advice. Not-for-profit corporations are encouraged to seek professional advice if they have any concerns.

Rate this page

The content of this page was useful to me.

Share this page

To share this page, just select the social network of your choice:
  • More

No endorsement of any products or services is expressed or implied.

Introduction

La Loi canadienne sur les organisations à but non lucratif

La nouvelle Loi canadienne sur les organisations à but non lucratif (Loi BNL) établit de nouvelles règles s'appliquant aux organisations à but non lucratif de régime fédéral. Ces nouvelles règles remplaceront la partie II de la Loi sur les corporations canadiennes (l'ancienne Loi) qui a régi les corporations à but non lucratif de régime fédéral pendant près d'un siècle. Les règles en vertu de la Loi BNL sont modernes, souples et répondent mieux aux besoins du secteur à but non lucratif.

Notez que dans ce guide le terme « corporation » désigne une corporation constituée en vertu de l'ancienne Loi et le terme « organisation » désigne les organisations prorogées ou constituées en vertu de la Loi BNL.

Quels sont les avantages de la Loi BNL?

Les organisations à but non lucratif de régime fédéral tirent profit de ce qui suit :

  • d’un ensemble de règles claires s’appliquant aux affaires internes des organisations à but non lucratif.
  • de moins de paperasse et des processus simplifiés.
  • de plus de souplesse pour apporter des modifications de structure, par exemple, les fusions n’étaient pas permises en vertu de l’ancienne Loi.
  • d’une norme plus objective à l’intention des administrateurs dans l’exercice de leurs devoirs et responsabilités et qui rassurera les personnes qui décident de siéger à un conseil d’administration.

Ces nouvelles règles s'appliquent-elles immédiatement?

Non. La Loi BNL ne s’applique pas automatiquement aux corporations existantes. Chaque corporation constituée en vertu de l’ancienne Loi devra prendre des dispositions pour procéder à la transition en vertu de la Loi BNL. Jusqu’à ce que cette transition soit effectuée, les règles en vertu de l’ancienne Loi continuent de s’appliquer.

Qu'est-ce que le processus de transition?

La corporation doit remplacer ses lettres patentes, ses lettres patentes supplémentaires (le cas échéant) et ses règlements administratifs par de nouveaux documents constitutifs. Cela veut dire que vous devrez déposer des statuts de prorogation afin d’obtenir un certificat de prorogation et créer de nouveaux règlements administratifs. Les statuts et les règlements administratifs doivent être conformes à la Loi BNL. Ces documents constitutifs établissent les règles principales qui régissent l’organisation.

Ce guide vous aidera à effectuer la transition.

La transition modifiera-t-elle le statut d'organisme de bienfaisance enregistré de mon organisation?

Peut-être. Si votre organisation est ou prévoit devenir un organisme de bienfaisance enregistré, en vertu de la Loi sur l'impôt sur le revenu, il est fortement recommandé de consulter la Direction des organismes de bienfaisance de l'Agence du revenu du Canada (ARC) lors du processus de transition (aller à www.cra-arc.gc.ca/bienfaisance ou composer le 613-954-0410 ou le numéro sans frais 1-888-892-5667). La Direction des organismes de bienfaisance vous fournira de précieux renseignements spécifiques aux organismes de bienfaisance au sujet de la transition, particulièrement en ce qui à trait :

  • à la déclaration d'intention
  • aux exigences quant au nombre d'administrateurs
  • aux clauses de statut sans but lucratif et aux clauses relatives à la rémunération des administrateurs
  • l'obligation de déposer les documents à l'ARC lorsque le processus de transition est terminé.

En consultant la Direction des organismes de bienfaisance d'avance vous pourrez vous assurer que votre organisation maintient son statut d'organisme de bienfaisance enregistré.

Y a-t-il des frais?

Non. Aucuns frais ne s’appliquent dans les cas d’une demande de certificat de prorogation et de dépôt de règlements administratifs.

Y a-t-il une date limite pour effectuer la transition?

Une corporation doit effectuer la transition avant le 17 octobre 2014.

Que se passe-t-il si une corporation n'effectue pas la transition?

Les corporations qui n’auront pas effectué la transition à la date limite seront présumées inactives et seront dissoutes. Dans le cas d’un organisme de bienfaisance enregistré, la dissolution pourrait mener à la révocation de son enregistrement en tant qu’organisme de bienfaisance, ce qui signifie que la corporation devrait payer une taxe de révocation équivalente à 100 % de la valeur du reliquat de ses biens.

Note

Les renseignements fournis par Corporations Canada, y compris le présent guide, ne remplacent aucunement des conseils juridiques. Il est fortement recommandé de consulter un professionnel qui pourra répondre à vos questions.

Date de modification :