The transition process

Corporations can take advantage of the benefits of the NFP Act once the transition is complete. The transition process involves obtaining a Certificate of Continuance and making by-laws that comply with the NFP Act.

To make the transition to the NFP Act, a federally incorporated not-for-profit corporation will need to replace its letters patent, supplementary letters patent (if any) and by-laws with a Certificate of Continuance (attached to which are the corporation's articles) and new by-laws that comply with the NFP Act.

The Certificate of Continuance is the same as a Certificate of Incorporation. Both set out the articles that apply to a corporation. Because the corporation is already incorporated, however, it cannot incorporate again under the NFP Act. Instead, it "continues" into the new Act and is issued a Certificate of Continuance instead of a Certificate of Incorporation.

The continuance process involves setting out articles of continuance, having them approved by members and submitting them to Corporations Canada, which in turn will issue a Certificate of Continuance. The articles of continuance are essentially the constitution of the corporation.

Because the rules under the NFP Act are different, what needs to be set out in the articles and by-laws is also different. For that reason, the transition process is not simply a matter of transposing the provisions of the letters patent and supplementary letters patent into the articles and using the same by-laws.

The following steps will guide you through the transition process.

Date modified:

Le processus de transition

Les corporations pourront profiter des avantages qu’offre la Loi BNL une fois que le processus de transition sera complété. Le processus de transition comprend l’obtention d’un certificat de prorogation et la création de règlements administratifs conformes à la Loi BNL.

Pour procéder à la transition à la Loi BNL, une corporation à but non lucratif de régime fédéral devra remplacer ses lettres patentes, ses lettres patentes supplémentaires (le cas échéant) et ses règlements administratifs par un certificat de prorogation, auquel sont joints les statuts ainsi que les nouveaux règlements administratifs conformes à la Loi BNL.

Le certificat de prorogation est équivalent à un certificat de constitution. Les deux établissent les statuts s’appliquant à une organisation. Toutefois, comme la corporation est déjà constituée en vertu de l’ancienne Loi, elle ne peut être constituée de nouveau en vertu de la Loi BNL. La corporation sera plutôt « prorogée » en vertu de la nouvelle Loi et se verra délivrer un certificat de prorogation plutôt qu’un certificat de constitution.

Le processus de prorogation comporte la préparation de statuts de prorogation. Ceux-ci doivent être approuvés par les membres et soumis à Corporations Canada, qui à son tour délivrera un certificat de prorogation. Les statuts de prorogation sont essentiellement la constitution de l’organisation.

Étant donné que les règles en vertu de la Loi BNL sont différentes des règles en vertu de l’ancienne Loi, ce qui est énoncé dans les statuts et les règlements administratifs doit également être différent. Pour cette raison, le processus de transition ne consiste pas simplement à transposer les dispositions des lettres patentes et des lettres patentes supplémentaires dans les statuts et à utiliser les mêmes règlements administratifs.

Les étapes suivantes vous guideront dans le processus de transition.

Date de modification :