Annex C
Mandatory and default rules

Mandatory rules

At minimum, a corporation must have the following two by-law provisions.

Minimum Requirements
Required By-law Provisions Description
Conditions of membershipFootnote 1 The by-laws must set out the conditions required for being a member, including whether a corporation or other organization can be a member. If there is more than one class or group of members, the by-laws must set out the conditions of membership for each class or group, the manner of withdrawing from or transferring to another group or class of members, and the conditions on which membership in a group or class ends. See Model By-laws (section 2.01).
Notice of meeting to members entitled to vote at the meetingFootnote 1 The by-laws must set out the manner in which notice can be given to members entitled to vote and can include any of the following optionsFootnote 2:
  • notice is sent by mail, courier or personal delivery, between 21 and 60 days before the meeting;
  • notice is communicated by telephone or other electronic communication means, between 21 and 35 days before the meetingFootnote 3;
  • notice is communicated via a publication:
    • at least once a week for three weeks prior to the meeting if using a newspaper; or
    • between 21 and 60 days if using a publication of the corporation that is distributed to members;
  • notice is affixed to a notice board not less than 30 days before the meeting.

See Model By-laws (section 2.02).

Default rules

The Canada Not-for-profit Corporations Act provides for default rules where the corporation's by-laws are silent. The corporation has the option of overriding many of these rules by setting out its own rules in the by-laws or, if it so chooses, in the articles. The Model By-laws and the By-Law Builder provide alternate rules to the default ones.

1. Financial Matters
Provision Default Rule Alternate Rule Permitted in By-laws
Borrowing powers Directors can borrow and grant security without authorization of members. Can restrict borrowing powers. Refer to item 10 in Annex B.
Providing annual financial statements to members Annual financial statements must be sent to members 21-60 days before the annual meeting. Can send notice to members that financial statements are available at the registered office. See Model By-laws (section 1.07).
2. Membership
Provision Default Rule Alternate Rule Permitted in By-laws
Transferability of membershipFootnote 1 Membership can only be transferred back to the not-for-profit corporation. Can specify different rules for transferability.
Place of meeting of members The meeting of members is to be held at a place in Canada that the directors determine or a place outside Canada if all the members entitled to vote at the meeting agree. Can provide otherwise.
Members calling a meeting Members who hold 5% of the votes can request a meeting of members. Can set a percentage lower than 5% but not higher.
Electronic participation at meetings Participation by electronic means is permitted. Electronic participation can be prohibited or restricted.
Meeting held entirely by electronic means Not permitted. Can be permitted as long as all participants can communicate adequately with each other.
Quorum for meetings Quorum is a majority of members, and if quorum is present at the opening of a meeting, business may proceed even if quorum is not present throughout the meeting. By-laws with a different quorum must set it out as a fixed number of members, a percentage of members or a number or percentage of members that is determinable by a formula. Can provide that an opening quorum at a meeting is not sufficient where there is a loss of quorum later in the meeting. See Model By-laws (section 4.03).
Manner of voting by members Voting is by show of hands or by electronic participation. A member entitled to vote at the meeting can demand a ballot. Can specify manner of voting. See Model By-laws (section 4.04).
Absentee voting by membersFootnote 1 Not permitted except for electronic participation. Can specify that absentee voting will be allowed by proxy, mailed-in ballot, or telephonic, electronic or other communication means. Must also set out procedures for collecting, counting and reporting the results of any vote. See Model By-laws (section 2.03)
Rights on termination of membership Rights of a member cease to exist on termination of membership. Can provide otherwise. See Model By-laws (section 3.02).
3. Directors
Provision Default Rule Alternate Rule Permitted in By-laws
Remuneration of directors Directors can fix the reasonable remuneration of directors, officers and employees. Can provide otherwise.
Place of meeting of directors Directors may meet at any place. Can provide otherwise.
Appointment of directors No appointments allowed. Cannot be overridden by the by-laws. The articles may permit the directors to appoint additional directors to hold office until the next annual meeting of members. No more than one-third of the total number of directors elected at the last annual meeting of members can be appointed. See item 10, Additional Directors, in Annex B.
Quorum of directors A majority of the number of directors or minimum number of directors required by the articles constitutes a quorum. Can provide otherwise.
Borrowing powers (also included in Financial Matters) Directors may borrow money and grant security on property of the corporation without member authoriziation. Can restrict this power in the bylaws or articles. Refer to item 10 in Annex B.
Appointment of officers Directors designate the offices, appoint officers and specify their duties. Can provide otherwise. See Model By-laws (section 7.01).
By-lawsFootnote 4 Directors make, amend or repeal by-laws except those requiring a special resolution of members. The by-law, amendment or repeal is effective until the next meeting confirm, amend or reject it. Can provide otherwise.
4. Other
Provision Default Rule Alternate Rule Permitted in By-laws
Electronic documents Electronic documents are permitted. Can provide otherwise.
Date modified:

Annexe C
Règles impératives et par défaut

Règles impératives

Les règlements administratifs de l'organisation doivent comprendre au moins les deux dispositions suivantes :

Dispositions impératives
Dispositions des règlements administratifs exigées Description
Conditions d'adhésionNote de bas de page 1 Les règlements administratifs doivent prévoir les conditions d’adhésion à l’organisation et préciser si une organisation ou une autre entité peut être membre. S’il y a plusieurs catégories ou groupes de membres, les règlements administratifs doivent prévoir les conditions d’ adhésion à telle catégorie ou à tel groupe, les modalités d’exclusion d’une catégorie ou d’un groupe ou de transfert à une autre catégorie ou à un autre groupe de membres, et les conditions faisant en sorte qu’un membre cesse d’appartenir à une catégorie ou à un groupe. Se reporter au Modèle de règlements administratifs (section 2.01) .
Avis d'assemblée des membres habiles à voterNote de bas de page 1 Les règlements administratifs doivent prévoir la façon dont l’avis peut être transmis aux membres habiles à voter et peuvent comprendre les possibilités suivantesNote de bas de page 2 :
  • l’avis est envoyé par la poste, par messager ou livraison personnelle, de 21 à 60 jours avant l’assemblée;
  • l’avis est communiqué par téléphone ou par d’autres moyens de communication électroniques, de 21 à 35 jours avant l’assembléeNote de bas de page 3;
  • l'avis est communiqué au moyen d'une publication :
    • au moins une fois par semaine pendant trois semaines avant l’assemblée s’il s’agit d’un journal; ou
    • de 21 à 60 jours s’il s’agit d’une publication de l’organisation qui est distribuée aux membres;
  • l’avis est posé sur un tableau d’affichage au moins 30 jours avant l’assemblée.
Se reporter au Modèle de règlements administratifs (section 2.02).

Règles par défaut

La Loi canadienne sur les organisations à but non lucratif prévoit des règles par défaut dans l’éventualité où les règlements administratifs d’une organisation restent muets sur certains sujets. L’organisation peut remplacer plusieurs de ces règles en établissant ses propres règles dans les règlements administratifs ou, si elle choisit de le faire, dans les statuts. Dans certains cas, le Modèle de règlements administratifs et l'Outil d'élaboration des règlements administratifs fournit d’autres possibilités en remplacement des règles par défaut..

1. Questions financières
Disposition Règles par défaut Autres règles pouvant être prévues par les règlements administratifs
Pouvoir d'emprunt Les administrateurs peuvent emprunter et donner en garantie les biens de l’organisation sans obtenir l’autorisation des membres. Peuvent restreindre le pouvoir d’emprunt. Se reporter au point 10 dans l'annexe B.
Fournir des états financiers annuels aux membres Des états financiers annuels doivent être envoyés aux membres de 21 à 60 jours avant l’assemblée annuelle. Peut envoyer un avis aux membres indiquant que les états financiers sont disponibles au siège. Consulter le Modèle de règlements administratifs (section 1.07).
2. Adhésion
Disposition Règles par défaut Autres règles pouvant être prévues par les règlements administratifs
Transfert de l'adhésionNote de bas de page 1 L’adhésion peut uniquement être transférée qu’à l’organisation à but non lucratif elle-même. Peuvent spécifier différentes règles relatives au transfert.
Lieu de l'assemblée des membres L’assemblée des membres doit se tenir à un endroit au Canada déterminé par les administrateurs ou ailleurs à l’extérieur du Canada si tous les membres habiles à voter à l’assemblée sont d’accord. Peuvent prévoir autre chose.
Membres convoquant une assemblée Les membres détenant au moins 5 % des voix peuvent demander la tenue d’une assemblée des membres. Peuvent établir un pourcentage moindre que 5 % mais non supérieur.
Participation électronique à une assemblée La participation par des moyens électroniques est permise. La participation électronique peut être interdite ou restreinte.
Assemblée tenue entièrement par des moyens électroniques Non permise. Peut être permise à condition que tous les participants puissent communiquer adéquatement entre eux.
Quorum des assemblées Une majorité des membres constitue le quorum, et il suffit que le quorum soit atteint à l’ouverture de l’assemblée pour que les membres puissent délibérer même si le quorum n’est pas maintenu tout au long de l’assemblée. Les règlements administratifs dont le quorum est différent doivent établir un nombre fixe de membres, un pourcentage de membres ou un nombre ou un pourcentage de membres déterminable par une formule. Peuvent prévoir qu’un quorum à l’ouverture de l’assemblée n’est pas suffisant lorsqu’il y a perte de quorum plus tard au cours de l’assemblée. Consulter le Modèle de règlements administratifs (section 4.03).
Façon de voter des membres Le vote se fait à main levée ou par moyen électronique. Un membre habile à voter peut demander un scrutin secret. Peuvent spécifier une façon de voter. Consulter le Modèle de règlement administratifs (section 4.04).
Vote des membres absentsNote de bas de page 1 N’est pas permis sauf par moyen électronique. Peuvent spécifier que le vote des membres absents sera permis par fondé de pouvoir, par scrutin, par la poste ou par tout moyen téléphonique, électronique ou de communication. Doivent aussi prévoir la procédure relative à la collecte des voix, au dépouillement du scrutin et à la proclamation des résultats du vote. Consulter le Modèle de règlements administratifs (section 2.03).
Extinction des droits du membre Les droits du membre cessent d’exister dès l’extinction de l’adhésion. Peuvent prévoir autre chose. Consulter le Modèle de règlements administratifs (section 3.02).
3. Administrateurs
Disposition Règles par défaut Autres règles pouvant être prévues par les règlements administratifs
Rémunération des administrateurs Les administrateurs peuvent fixer leur juste rémunération et celle des dirigeants et des employés. Peuvent prévoir autre chose.
Lieu de l’assemblée des administrateurs Les administrateurs peuvent se réunir en tout lieu. Peuvent prévoir autre chose.
Nomination des administrateurs Aucune nomination n’est permise. Ne peut être remplacé dans les règlements administratifs. Les statuts peuvent permettre aux administrateurs de nommer des administrateurs supplémentaires dont le mandat expirera à la prochaine assemblée annuelle. Il n'est pas possible de nommer plus du tiers des administrateurs élus lors de la dernière assemblée annuelle. Consulter le point 10 dans l'annexe B.
Quorum des administrateurs Une majorité du nombre d’administrateurs ou le nombre minimal d’administrateurs exigé par les statuts constitue le quorum. Peuvent prévoir autre chose.
Pouvoir d’emprunt (également inclus dans Questions financières) Les administrateurs peuvent emprunter de l’argent et donner en garantie les biens de l’organisation sans obtenir l’autorisation des membres. Ce pouvoir peut être restreint dans les règlements administratifs ou les statuts. Se reporter au point 10 dans l'annexe B.
Nomination des dirigeants Les administrateurs désignent les postes, nomment les dirigeants et spécifient leurs devoirs. Peuvent prévoir autre chose. Consulter le Modèle de règlements administratifs (section 7.01).
Règlements administratifsNote de bas de page 4 Les administrateurs prennent, modifient ou abrogent les règlements administratifs sauf ceux qui exigent une résolution extraordinaire des membres. Le règlement administratif, la modification ou l’abrogation est en vigueur jusqu’à la prochaine assemblée des membres lors de laquelle les membres le confirment, le modifient ou le rejettent. Peuvent prévoir autre chose.
4. Autre
Disposition Règles par défaut Autres règles pouvant être prévues par les règlements administratifs
Documents électroniques Les documents électroniques sont permis. Peuvent prévoir autre chose
Date de modification :