Next steps following incorporation

After you incorporate under the Not-for-profit Corporations Act (NFP Act), you need to establish the internal organization of the corporation.

On this page

First directors' meeting

After incorporation, the incorporators or first directors are required to call an "organizational meeting" of the directors. The purpose of this first meeting of the directors is to organize the corporation by adopting a number of resolutions that will allow the corporation to conduct its activities. A minimum of five days' notice of this meeting must be given to each director listed in Form 4002 – Initial Registered Office Address and First Board of Directors (see Federal incorporation forms).

This notice must indicate the date, time and place of the meeting. A director can waive (that is, voluntarily refrain from insisting on) notice of the meeting, and the attendance of a director at the meeting is equivalent to a waiver of the notice of meeting (refer to subsections 127(3) and (4) of the NFP Act and section 27 of the Canada Not-for-profit Corporations Regulations (NFP Regulations)).

At this first meeting, the directors can take the following actions (refer to subsection 127(1) of the NFP Act):

  • make by-laws
  • maintain corporate records and issuing debt obligation certificates
  • authorize the issuance of debt obligations
  • appoint officers
  • appoint an interim public accountant
  • issue memberships
  • make banking arrangements
  • transact any other business.

Instead of holding a first meeting of the directors, the directors can alternatively sign organizing resolutions to deal with all of the above matters. This is especially suitable if the number of directors is small. If all directors sign a written record of resolutions on the above matters, then a meeting of the first directors is not necessary. A copy of the resolutions must be kept with the minutes of the meetings of directors (see Organizing resolutions of directors for adoption at first meeting of the directors; you can also refer to subsections 127(5) and (6) of the NFP Act).

Possible actions to be taken at first meeting of directors

The directors need to consider the following actions at their first meeting.

Make by-laws

As soon as possible after incorporation, a corporation will need to adopt a set of rules concerning the governance and operations of a corporation. These rules are set out in the by-laws of the corporation. In this regard, the first directors will need to adopt "general by-laws" at the first meeting of the directors.

If a corporation wants to put in place certain rules that are not dealt with in the NFP Act or to modify some of the rules that are in the NFP Act, it can do so, as long as the changes made are permitted by the NFP Act (see Default rules).

Examples of issues that can be dealt with in by-laws include:

  • the date of a corporation's financial year-end
  • the process and special requirements for banking arrangements
  • the qualification requirements for memberships
  • the process for appointing officers, as well as the rules regarding their qualifications and duties
  • the procedures for calling and conducting directors' and members' meetings
  • the minimum number of directors and members required to establish quorum at meetings
  • the process for amending by-laws
  • the rules limiting the modifications that can be made to the powers given to directors under the NFP Act.

By-laws can be amended from time to time, for various reasons. For example, a corporation might want to change the qualification requirements for its officers, or the quorum requirements for members meetings. The process for amending by-laws differs depending on the subject matter of the changes (see By-laws for information on changing by-laws).

With some exceptions, general by-laws adopted at the first meeting of the directors take effect immediately, although they are subject to confirmation at the first meeting of the members. After confirmation by the members, a copy of the by-laws must be filed with Corporations Canada within 12 months (refer to sections 152 and 153 of the NFP Act, and section 60 of the NFP Regulations).

Maintain corporate records and issuing debt obligation certificates

The list of corporate records that are required to be kept includes registers of members, directors and officers and minutes of member and director meetings. Although there is a general requirement for the corporation to keep certain records at its registered office, it is also permissible to keep these records at another location, provided that the requirements of the NFP Act are met. At the first meeting of the directors, they will need to decide how these records are to be maintained and what rules, if any, will govern their maintenance (see Corporate records and filing obligations).

Authorize the issuance of debt obligations

If a corporation intends to issue debt obligations after incorporation (for ex., bonds, debentures, notes or other evidences of indebtedness or guarantees of a corporation), this will have to be authorized by the directors at their first meeting. Future debt obligations will also have to be authorized by the directors at future meetings.

Appoint officers

Officers are appointed by the directors to assist the directors and to carry out functions delegated to them. Officers should be appointed at the first meeting of the directors. Officers can be replaced at the discretion of the directors at any point in the future (see The directors).

Appoint an interim public accountant

The NFP Act contains a general requirement that the members of a corporation incorporated under the NFP Act must appoint a public accountant by ordinary resolution (that is, a simple majority of the votes cast) at each annual meeting (refer to subsection 181(1) of the NFP Act). The NFP Act also contains rules regarding who can be appointed, and the circumstances in which such an appointment is not required (refer to sections 180-182 of the NFP Act). Since the power to appoint a public accountant is vested with the members, the first directors can appoint an interim public accountant who holds office until the first meeting of the members (see Financial statements and review).

Issue memberships

One of a corporation's first activities following incorporation is to issue memberships. A person becomes a member when a corporation admits that person as a member of the corporation and "issues" a membership in that person's name. At the first meeting of the directors, memberships will need to be issued to qualified persons who meet the membership conditions contained in the by-laws. If the articles of incorporation provide for two or more classes or groups of members, memberships can be issued to different classes of members who meet the requirements set out in the by-laws. Additional memberships can be issued in the future (see The members; you can also refer to sections 154 and 155 of the NFP Act).

Make banking arrangements

Once the corporation has been incorporated, it will need to choose a financial institution to meet its corporate banking needs. At their first meeting, the directors should adopt the banking resolutions that are required by the financial institution chosen; designate the signing officers for cheques; and determine the processes for conducting other banking business and authorizing signing officers.

Transact other business

Depending on the operations of the corporation, other business decisions might also have to be made at the first meeting of directors. Such decisions could include those that deal with:

  • adopting corporate policies
  • employing staff
  • purchasing insurance coverage
  • leasing premises
  • purchasing real property.

Another could involve the adoption of pre-incorporation contracts. In such a situation, a person who enters into a contract in the name of or on behalf of a corporation before it comes into existence is personally bound by that contract. After incorporation, the corporation can adopt the contract so that the corporation will become bound by the contract as if the corporation had been in existence when the contract was entered into, while the person ceases to be bound (refer to section 15 of the NFP Act).

Depending on the nature of these decisions, some might require member approval and others might not.

First members' meeting

After the organizational meeting of the first directors, an organizational meeting of the members is required. Although most of the corporation's initial organizing business can be dealt with by the directors at their first meeting, certain matters might not be decided by the directors or might have to be confirmed by the members. With this in mind, the first directors of a corporation must call the first members' meeting within 18 months of the date of incorporation, that is, the effective date on the certificate of incorporation (refer to section 160 of the NFP Act and subsection 61(1) of the NFP Regulations). This meeting is usually held immediately after the first organizational meeting of the directors.

At this meeting, the members:

  • elect directors
  • confirm, modify or reject the general by-laws established by the first directors
  • appoint a public accountant, who can be the same one appointed by the first directors or a different one
  • adopt special by-laws, if any
  • transact other business.

Similar to the first meeting of the directors, the members can also adopt these initial organizing resolutions in writing, instead of holding a members' meeting, provided that the written resolutions are signed by all members (see Organizing resolutions of members for adoption at the first meeting of members; you can also refer to section 166 of the NFP Act).

Provincial and territorial registrations

Once a not-for-profit corporation has been incorporated federally, you will likely need to register the corporation in the province(s) or territory(ies) where the corporation carries on its activities. While incorporation creates a legal entity, provincial and territorial registrations allow the corporation to carry on activities within Canada's individual provinces and territories. There are different types of registrations, such as extra-provincial corporate registrations, business name registrations and fundraising registrations. Provinces and territories often require corporations to register within a few weeks after beginning activities in their jurisdictions.

In addition, some jurisdictions might require annual filings or registrations. A registration or filing fee might also be charged. Carrying on activities in a province or territory can include running a program or fundraising event; having an address, a post office box or phone number; or offering services or products at that location.

The requirements and processes for registration differ greatly among the province(s) or territory(ies) as there is no central registration agency. For example, it is possible that a corporation might need to register in one province but not in another, even though the same activity is carried on in both provinces. Consider contacting the local corporate law administration offices in each province or territory where you plan to carry on activities to determine their individual registration requirements (see Provincial registrars).

Business number

The Business Number (BN) is a unique federal government numbering system that identifies your organization and the accounts you maintain with the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA). The BN consists of a numeric identifier of the organization, followed by a program account identifier. Examples of program accounts that can be registered with the CRA include:

  • Goods and Services Tax (GST) and Harmonized Sales Tax (HST)
  • registered charitable status (indicated by a charity's registration number)
  • payroll deductions
  • corporate income tax
  • import and export duties and taxes.

When it incorporates your organization, Corporations Canada will ask the CRA to issue a BN for your corporation. The CRA will then register your corporation, and follow-up with a letter that confirms your BN and the program accounts for which you are registered. This letter will also include a summary of the information you have provided (see Registering your business on the CRA website).

Permits and other formalities

You might have to fulfill a number of other requirements in order to carry on certain activities. For example, you might need a provincial permit to carry on activities in a particular sector, such as a bingo licence in order to operate a bingo, a liquor permit in order to serve alcoholic beverages, or lobbying registration in order to conduct certain lobbying activities. Corporations Canada does not provide information on such requirements. Instead, consider checking with the appropriate municipal, provincial, territorial or federal government agencies, as well as professional organizations. You can also consult the Industry Canada Bizpal service for help with your business permit and licensing needs.

Date modified:

Étapes suivant la constitution

Après que vous constituez une organisation en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur les organisations à but non lucratif (Loi BNL), vous devez établir la structure interne de cette organisation.

Sur cette page

Assemblée des premiers administrateurs

À la suite de la constitution, les fondateurs ou les premiers administrateurs doivent convoquer une « assemblée constitutive » des administrateurs. L'objectif de cette première assemblée des administrateurs est de structurer l'organisation en adoptant un certain nombre de résolutions qui permettront à l'organisation de mener ses activités. Un avis d'au moins 5 jours doit être donné à chaque administrateur dont le nom apparaît sur le Formulaire 4002 – Adresse initiale du siège et premier conseil d'administration (voir Formulaires pour l'incorporation de régime fédéral).

Cet avis doit indiquer la date, l'heure et le lieu de l'assemblée. Un administrateur peut renoncer à l'avis de convocation (c.-à-d., ne pas insister pour recevoir l'avis), et la présence d'un administrateur à l'assemblée équivaut à une renonciation à l'avis de convocation (référez-vous aux paragraphes 127(3) et (4) de la Loi BNL et à l'article 27 du Règlement sur les organisations à but non lucratif de régime fédéral (Règlement BNL)).

À l'occasion de la première assemblée, les administrateurs peuvent prendre les mesures suivantes (référez-vous au paragraphe 127(1) de la Loi BNL) :

  • adopter des règlements administratifs
  • tenir des livres et émettre des certificats de titre de créance
  • autoriser l'émission des titres de créance
  • nommer les dirigeants
  • nommer un expert-comptable intérimaire
  • enregistrer des adhésions
  • prendre des dispositions avec des institutions financières
  • traiter toute autre question.

Plutôt que de tenir une première assemblée des administrateurs, les administrateurs peuvent aussi décider de signer des résolutions constitutives pour traiter de toutes les questions ci-dessus. Cette façon est particulièrement convenable s'il y a peu d'administrateurs. Si tous les administrateurs signent un document écrit réunissant les résolutions sur les questions ci-dessus, une assemblée des premiers administrateurs n'est alors pas nécessaire. Un exemplaire des résolutions doit être conservé avec les procès-verbaux des réunions des administrateurs (voir Organiser les résolutions des administrateurs à adopter lors de la première assemblée du conseil d'administration; vous pouvez également vous référer aux paragraphes 127(5) et (6) de la Loi BNL).

Mesures possibles à prendre à l'occasion de la première assemblée des administrateurs

Les administrateurs doivent tenir comptent des mesures suivantes à leur première réunion.

Adopter des règlements administratifs

Aussitôt que possible après la constitution, une organisation devra adopter un ensemble de règles relatives à la gouvernance et au fonctionnement de l'organisation. De telles règles sont établies dans les règlements administratifs de l'organisation. À cet égard, les premiers administrateurs devront adopter des « règlements administratifs » à l'occasion de la première assemblée des administrateurs.

Si une organisation désire adopter certaines règles dont ne traite pas la Loi BNL ou modifier certaines des règles par défaut qui se trouvent dans la Loi, l'organisation peut le faire, en autant que la Loi le permette (voir Règles par défaut).

Voici des exemples de questions pouvant être traitées dans les règlements administratifs de l'organisation :

  • la date de la fin de l'année financière
  • les procédures et les exigences spécifiques concernant les ententes avec les institutions financières
  • les exigences pour l'adhésion des membres
  • les procédures pour nommer les dirigeants ainsi que les règles relatives à leur qualification et leurs responsabilités
  • les procédures pour convoquer et conduire les réunions du conseil d'administration et les assemblées des membres
  • le nombre minimal d'administrateurs et de membres requis pour fixer le quorum aux réunions et aux assemblées
  • les procédures pour modifier les règlements administratifs
  • les règles pour limiter les changements pouvant être apportés aux pouvoirs donnés aux administrateurs en vertu de la Loi BNL.

Éventuellement, les règlements administratifs pourront facilement être modifiés ou remplacés pour des raisons diverses. Par exemple, une organisation peut désirer modifier les exigences relativement à la qualification des dirigeants ou encore les exigences concernant le quorum lors de l'assemblée des membres. Le processus pour modifier les règlements administratifs varie en fonction du contenu des modifications (voir Règlements administratifs pour en savoir plus sur la modification des règlements administratifs).

Sauf certaines exceptions, les règlements administratifs généraux adoptés à la première assemblée des administrateurs entrent en vigueur immédiatement, bien qu'ils doivent être confirmés à la première assemblée des membres. Dans les 12 mois suivant leur confirmation par les membres, un exemplaire des règlements administratifs doit être déposé auprès de Corporations Canada (référez-vous aux articles 152 et 153 de la Loi BNL et à l'article 60 du Règlement BNL).

Tenir des livres et émettre des certificats de titre de créance

La liste des livres de l'organisation devant être tenus à jour inclut les registres des membres, des administrateurs et des dirigeants et les procès-verbaux des assemblées des membres et du conseil d'administration. Bien qu'il existe une exigence générale concernant la conservation de certains livres au siège de l'organisation, il est aussi permis que celle-ci conserve de tels livres ailleurs, à la condition que les exigences de la Loi BNL soient respectées. À l'occasion de la première assemblée des administrateurs, ceux-ci devront décider des règles et de la façon dont ces livres devront être conservés et, s'il y a lieu, quelles règles régiront leur conservation (voir Livres de l'organisation et obligations de dépôt).

Autoriser l'émission de titres de créance

Si une organisation prévoit émettre des titres de créance à la suite de sa constitution (par ex., des bons, des débentures, des notes ou d'autres preuves de créance ou de garantie de l'organisation), ceux-ci devront être autorisés par les administrateurs à l'occasion de leur première assemblée. Les titres de créance éventuels devront aussi être autorisés par les administrateurs aux prochaines assemblées.

Nommer les dirigeants

Les dirigeants sont nommés par le conseil d'administration pour aider les administrateurs et pour s'acquitter des fonctions qui leur sont déléguées. Les dirigeants doivent être nommés à l'occasion de la première assemblée du conseil d'administration. Les dirigeants peuvent être remplacés en tout temps à la discrétion des administrateurs (voir Les administrateurs).

Nommer un expert-comptable intérimaire

La Loi BNL contient une exigence générale concernant la nomination d'un expert-comptable par résolution ordinaire des membres d'une organisation constituée en vertu de la Loi BNL (c.-à-d., par simple majorité des voix exprimées) à chaque assemblée annuelle (référez-vous au paragraphe 181(1) de la Loi BNL). La Loi BNL contient également des règles à propos de la personne qui peut être nommée, et les circonstances dans lesquelles une telle nomination n'est pas nécessaire (référez-vous aux articles 180-182 de la Loi BNL). Étant donné que le pouvoir de nommer un expert-comptable est conféré aux membres, les premiers administrateurs peuvent nommer un expert-comptable intérimaire dont le mandat expire à la première assemblée des membres (voir États financiers et examen financier).

Enregistrer des adhésions

L'une des premières activités d'une organisation à la suite de sa constitution consiste à enregistrer des adhésions. Une personne devient membre lorsqu'une organisation l'admet comme membre de l'organisation et « enregistre » une adhésion au nom de cette personne. À l'occasion de la première assemblée du conseil d'administration, les adhésions devront être émises aux personnes qualifiées répondant aux conditions de l'adhésion contenues dans les règlements administratifs. Si les statuts constitutifs prévoient deux ou plusieurs catégories ou groupes de membres, les adhésions peuvent être émises à différentes catégories de membres qui répondent aux exigences établies dans les règlements administratifs. Des adhésions supplémentaires peuvent éventuellement être enregistrées (voir Les membres; vous pouvez également vous référer aux articles 154 et 155 de la Loi BNL).

Prendre des dispositions avec des institutions financières

Une fois l'organisation constituée, elle devra choisir une institution financière pour répondre à ses besoins bancaires. À l'occasion de leur première assemblée, les administrateurs doivent adopter les résolutions bancaires exigées par l'institution financière choisie; désigner les signataires autorisés pour les chèques; déterminer la procédure pour effectuer d'autres opérations bancaires et autoriser des signataires.

Traiter toute autre question

Selon le fonctionnement de l'organisation, il se peut que d'autres décisions opérationnelles doivent être prises à l'occasion de la première assemblée du conseil d'administration. Parmi de telles décisions peuvent notamment se trouver celles ayant trait à :

  • l'adoption de politiques de l'organisation
  • l'embauche du personnel
  • l'achat de polices d'assurance
  • la location de locaux
  • l'achat de biens immobiliers.

L'adoption de contrats conclus avant la constitution pourrait aussi faire partie des autres décisions à prendre. Dans une telle situation, une personne qui s'engage dans un contrat au nom de ou pour le compte d'une organisation avant qu'elle n'existe est personnellement liée par ce contrat. À la suite de la constitution, l'organisation peut adopter le contrat de telle sorte qu'elle soit désormais liée par ce contrat comme si elle avait existée au moment de la conclusion du contrat. La personne qui avait d'abord conclu ce contrat cessera alors d'y être liée (référez-vous à l'article 15 de la Loi BNL).

Selon la nature des décisions, certaines peuvent exiger l'approbation des membres et d'autres pas.

Première assemblée des membres

À la suite de l'assemblée constitutive des premiers administrateurs, une assemblée constitutive des membres est nécessaire. Bien que la plupart des questions initiales de fonctionnement de l'organisation puissent être réglées par les administrateurs à l'occasion de leur première assemblée, certaines décisions ne peuvent être prises par les administrateurs ou celles-ci doivent être confirmées par les membres. Dans cette optique, les premiers administrateurs d'une organisation doivent convoquer la première assemblée des membres dans les 18 mois suivant la date de la constitution, c'est-à-dire, la date d'entrée en vigueur indiquée sur le certificat de constitution (référez-vous à l'article 160 de la Loi BNL et au paragraphe 61(1) du Règlement BNL). Cette assemblée se tient généralement immédiatement après la première assemblée constitutive des administrateurs.

À l'occasion de cette assemblée, les membres :

  • élisent les administrateurs
  • confirment, modifient ou rejettent les règlements administratifs établis par les premiers administrateurs
  • nomment un expert-comptable, qui peut être le même que celui nommé par les premiers administrateurs ou un autre
  • adoptent des règlements administratifs extraordinaires, s'il y a lieu
  • traitent toute autre question.

Sensiblement comme dans le cas de la première assemblée des administrateurs, les membres peuvent adopter leurs résolutions constitutives initiales par écrit plutôt que de tenir une assemblée des membres, à la condition que les résolutions écrites soient signées par tous les membres (voir Organiser les résolutions des administrateurs à adopter lors de la première assemblée du conseil d'administration; vous pouvez aussi vous référer à l'article 166 de la Loi BNL).

Enregistrement provincial et territorial

Bien que votre organisation soit constituée sous le régime fédéral, elle devra vraisemblablement être enregistrée dans la ou les provinces ou les territoires où elle mène ses activités. Même si la constitution permet de créer une entité légale, les enregistrements provinciaux et territoriaux permettent à l'organisation de mener ses activités dans chaque province et territoire du Canada. Il existe différents types d'enregistrements; notamment, les enregistrements constitutifs extra-provinciaux, les enregistrements de dénomination et les enregistrements d'organismes collecteurs de fonds. La plupart des provinces et des territoires exigent que les organisations constituées s'enregistrent au cours des quelques semaines suivant le début de leurs activités dans la province ou territoire en question.

De plus, certaines autorités provinciales ou territoriales peuvent exiger chaque année le dépôt de documents ou l'enregistrement, auquel des frais sont quelquefois associés. Mener des activités dans une province ou un territoire peut inclure notamment la réalisation d'un programme ou la tenue d'une activité de financement, avoir une adresse, une case postale ou un numéro de téléphone ou encore offrir des services ou des produits à cette adresse.

Comme il n'y a pas d'organisme central pour l'enregistrement, les exigences et les procédures d'enregistrement diffèrent grandement d'une province ou territoire à un autre. À titre d'exemple, il est possible qu'une organisation constituée doive être enregistrée dans une province mais pas dans une autre, même si elle mène la même activité dans les deux provinces. Songez à communiquer avec le bureau local responsable du droit corporatif de chaque province ou territoire où vous prévoyez mener des activités afin de connaître les exigences particulières qui s'appliquent en matière d'enregistrement (voir Autorités provinciales).

Numéro d'entreprise

Le numéro d'entreprise (NE) est un système de numérotation unique du gouvernement fédéral, qui identifie une organisation et les comptes qu'elle a avec l'Agence du revenu du Canada (ARC). Le NE est un numéro d'identification de l'organisation, suivi d'un identificateur de compte d'un programme. Voici des exemples de comptes de programmes de l'ARC :

  • la taxe sur les produits et services (TPS) et la taxe de vente harmonisée (TVH)
  • le statut d'organisme de bienfaisance enregistré (indiqué par un numéro d'enregistrement d'organisme de bienfaisance)
  • les retenues sur la paye
  • l'impôt sur le revenu des sociétés
  • les droits et les taxes à l'importation et à l'exportation.

Au moment de la constitution en organisation, Corporations Canada se charge de demander à l'ARC d'émettre un NE à l'organisation. L'ARC inscrira alors l'organisation constituée et elle enverra par la suite une lettre confirmant le NE et les comptes de programmes pour lesquels elle est inscrite. Cette lettre comprendra également un résumé des renseignements fournis par l'organisation (voir Inscrire votre entreprise sur le site Web de l'ARC).

Permis et autres formalités

L'organisation aura probablement à répondre à certaines autres exigences pour mener certaines activités. À titre d'exemple, il se peut qu'elle ait besoin d'un permis provincial pour mener des activités dans un secteur particulier, comme une licence de bingo pour exploiter un bingo, un permis d'alcool pour servir des boissons alcoolisées ou un enregistrement de lobbyiste pour mener certaines activités de lobbying. Corporations Canada ne fournit pas de renseignements concernant ces exigences. Songez à vous renseigner auprès des organismes gouvernementaux municipaux, provinciaux, territoriaux ou fédéraux appropriés ainsi qu'auprès d'organisations professionnelles. Vous pouvez aussi consulter le service PerLE d'Industrie Canada pour vous aider à répondre aux exigences relatives au permis d'exploitation d'entreprise et aux licences.

Date de modification :