Continuance (export) of a business corporation to the Bank Act, the Insurance Companies Act, the Trust and Loan Companies Act or the Cooperative Credit Associations Act

Step 1 – Obtain shareholders' approval of the continuance

Shareholders' approval is required to continue a business corporation to one of the legislation administered by the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (OSFI).

Each share in the corporation, whether or not it has such rights, has the right to vote in respect of a continuance. At least two-thirds of the votes cast at a meeting must approve the continuance. See Step 1 of Policy on continuance (export) of a business corporation to a non-federal jurisdiction to find the information that needs to be included in the notice and disclosure materials.

Step 2 – Send the continuance application to the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions

The Bank Act, Insurance Companies Act, the Trust and Loan Companies Act and the Cooperative Credit Associations Act are administered by the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions. The continuance application must be sent to the OSFI.  You will find information related to the continuance application on the OSFI's website.

The OSFI may require that you obtain a Letter of Satisfaction from Corporations Canada. To obtain a Letter of Satisfaction, you must file your application by sending a written request to Corporations Canada (see How do I file my application under the Canada Business Corporations Act (CBCA)?).

In your application, include the following:

  • the corporate name and corporation number
  • the name and telephone number of the applicant, and details of where the Letter of Satisfaction should be sent
  • the name of the jurisdiction (province, state or country responsible for the importing legislation, for example, Canada)
  • the title of the importing legislation (for example, Bank Act).

There is no fee.

If the OSFI approves the application for continuance, it will issue continuance letters patent stating that the corporation is duly continued under the importing legislation as if it had been incorporated under it.

Step 3 – Send a copy of the continuance letters patent to Corporations Canada

Once letters patent are received from the OSFI, the corporation must send by mail, email or fax a copy of the continuance letters patent to Corporations Canada.  Upon receipt of the document:

  • Corporations Canada will issue a Certificate of Discontinuance. The date indicated on the Certificate of Discontinuance will be the same as the date on the continuance letters patent. The corporation will then be no longer governed by the CBCA, and
  • a notice of issuance of a Certificate of Discontinuance will be published in the Monthly Transactions.

Caution

The corporation must obtain a Certificate of Discontinuance for the continuance to be complete.  Until Corporations Canada issues the Certificate of Discontinuance, the corporation will continue to be governed by the CBCA, even though it is also governed by the importing legislation.

Complaints and appeals - Export transactions

Anyone wishing to register a complaint with Corporations Canada asking for intervention in an export transaction, see Complaints and appeals - Export transactions.

Date modified:

Prorogation (exportation) d'une société par actions en vertu de la Loi sur les banques, de la Loi sur les sociétés d'assurances, de la Loi sur les sociétés de fiducie et de prêt ou de la Loi sur les associations de coopératives de crédit

Étape 1 – Obtenir l'autorisation de la prorogation par les actionnaires

L'autorisation des actionnaires est requise afin de proroger une société par actions en vertu d'une loi administrées par le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières du Canada (BSIF).

Chaque action de la société confère un droit de vote à l'égard d'une opération de prorogation, que l'action soit ou non assortie d'un tel droit de vote. La résolution autorisant la prorogation doit être adoptée aux tiers au moins des voix exprimées à une assemblée. Voir l'Étape 1 de la Politique sur la prorogation (exportation) d'une société par actions de régime fédéral pour savoir quels sont les renseignements qui doivent se trouver dans l'avis et les documents relatifs à la divulgation.

Étape 2 – Envoyer la demande de prorogation au Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières du Canada

La Loi sur les banques, la Loi sur les sociétés d'assurance, la Loi sur les sociétés de fiducie et de prêt et la Loi sur les associations de coopératives de crédit sont administrées par le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières du Canada. La demande de prorogation doit être envoyée au BSIF. Vous trouverez l'information relative à la demande de prorogation sur le site Web du BSIF.

Le BSIF pourrait vous demander d'obtenir une Lettre de satisfaction de Corporations Canada. Pour obtenir une Lettre de satisfaction, vous devez déposer une demande par écrit auprès de Corporations Canada (voir Comment déposer une demande en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur les sociétés par actions (LCSA)).

Dans votre demande, il faut inclure ce qui suit :

  • la dénomination sociale et le numéro de société
  • le nom et numéro de téléphone du demandeur et les coordonnées de l'endroit où la Lettre de satisfaction doit être envoyée
  • le nom de l'autorité législative (province, état ou pays responsable de la loi importatrice, p. ex., Canada)
  • le titre de la loi importatrice (p. ex., Loi sur les banques).

Il n'y a aucun frais.

Si le BSIF approuve votre demande de prorogation, le bureau émettra des lettres patentes de prorogation indiquant que la société est dûment prorogée en vertu de la loi importatrice comme si elle avait été constituée en vertu de cette loi.

Étape 3 – Envoyer une copie des lettres patentes de prorogation à Corporations Canada

La société doit en envoyer une copie par courriel, par la poste ou par télécopieur des lettres patentes de prorogation à Corporations Canada. Sur réception de ce document :

  • Corporations Canada émettra un Certificat de changement de régime. La date indiquée sur le certificat sera la même que celle indiquée sur le document émis par l'autorité qui administre la loi importatrice. La société ne sera alors plus régie par la LCSA, et
  • un avis de l'émission du Certificat de changement de régime sera publié dans les Transactions mensuelles.

Attention

La société doit obtenir le Certificat de changement de régime afin de compléter la prorogation. Tant que Corporations Canada ne l'a pas émis, la société continue d'être régie par la LCSA, même si elle est également régie par la loi importatrice.

Plaintes et appels - Opérations d'exportation

Toute personne qui désire porter plainte auprès de Corporations Canada lui demandant d'intervenir à l'égard d'une opération d'exportation, voir Plaintes et appels - Opérations d'exportation.

Date de modification :