Frequently asked questions – Railway documents

The following questions cover sections 104 and 105 of the Canada Transportation Act (CTA). Note that Corporations Canada does not express any legal opinions or offer any definitive interpretations in respect of that legislation.

1. Does the deposit of a document under section 104 or section 105 of the CTA ensure the validity of such a document under the relevant section?

By accepting a deposit under section 104 or section 105 of the CTA, Corporations Canada does not provide any opinion on the substantive validity of such document. As a result, acceptance by Corporations Canada of a document pursuant to section 104 of the CTA does not ensure that it is a mortgage or hypothec for the purposes of the statute. Similarly, acceptance of a deposit under section 105 of the CTA does not ensure that the instrument evidences a lease, sale, conditional sale, mortgage, hypothec, bailment or security agreement relating to rolling stock.

2. What is the difference between a section 104 filing and a section 105 filing under the CTA?

Section 104 of the CTA allows for the deposit of mortgages, hypothecs or other related documents. By contrast, section 105 of the CTA refers not to a document but to a type of transaction, namely a lease, sale, conditional sale, mortgage, hypothec, bailment or security agreement relating to rolling stock.

3. Does deposit under section 104 or section 105 of the CTA, as the case may be, alleviate the need for provincial registration?

Deposit pursuant to section 104 of the CTA and section 105 of the CTA, as the case may be, appears to make registration at the provincial level unnecessary Footnote 1. The language of both seems to obviate the need for provincial filing. Filing exclusively at the federal level is entirely at the discretion of the user.

4. Does deposit under section 104 or 105 of the CTA establish a system of priorities?

Corporations Canada is unable to express any legal opinion on this point.

5. If a document is registered pursuant to the U.S. Interstate Commerce Act, does it also have to be filed under section 105 of the CTA?

Yes. Section 11301 of Title 49 of the United States Code (formerly section 20c of the Interstate Commerce Act) is the American equivalent of section 105 of the CTA. Corporations Canada understands that the American statute gives effect to deposits made under the CTA, but the CTA does not have a reciprocal provision. Corporations Canada is, however, mindful of the provisions for filing under the American system, and Corporations Canada's procedures permit the deposit of memoranda and summaries consistent with practice under that system.

6. What does the definition of rolling stock include?

Rolling stock is defined in section 6 of the CTA:

"rolling stock" includes a locomotive, engine, motor car, tender snow plough, flanger and any car or railway equipment that is designed for movement on its wheels on the rails of a railway.

For the purposes of a section 105 filing under the CTA, Corporations Canada points out the additional words "or any accessories or appurtenances" related in the section following the reference to rolling stock.

7. Does an index system exist in respect of section 105 of the CTA deposits similar to that maintained by the Surface Transportation Board in the United States?

The database does not provide an index such as exists pursuant to the U.S. Interstate Commerce Act. Documents are simply scanned into the system and searching is conducted based on fields. Documents, including primary documents and secondary documents, are not cross-referenced even if they are filed as a "batch" on the same day. Letters of transmittal are not scanned into the database.

8. Does the depositor have to publish a notice of deposit in the Canada Gazette for the deposit to be effective?

Following amendments to the CTA that came into force June 22, 2007, a notice in the Canada Gazette is no longer required.

9. Will Corporations Canada, on request, provide a letter or report to provincial land registry authorities in respect of outstanding registrations under section 104 of the CTA?

Corporations Canada staff will not conduct any searches, subsearches or file enquiries and, as a result, is unable to provide any information, whether certified or uncertified, to provincial real or personal property registries or any other person.

Date modified:

Foire aux questions – Documents de chemins de fer

Les questions suivantes portent sur les articles 104 et 105 de la Loi sur les transports au Canada (LTC). Signalons que Corporations Canada ne donne aucun avis juridique et n'offre aucune interprétation définitive de cette loi.

1. Le dépôt d'un document en vertu de l'article 104 ou 105 de la LTC assure-t-il la validité de ce document en vertu de l'article applicable?

En acceptant le dépôt d'un document en vertu de l'article 104 ou 105 de la LTC, Corporations Canada ne fournit aucun avis concernant la validité matérielle du document en question. Par conséquent, l'acceptation par Corporations Canada d'un document en vertu de l'article 104 de la LTC ne garantit pas qu'il s'agit de l'acte constatant une hypothèque pour les besoins de la loi. De même, l'acceptation du dépôt d'un document en vertu de l'article 105 de la LTC ne garantit pas que l'instrument prouve le louage, la vente, la vente conditionnelle, une hypothèque, le baillement ou l'accord de garantie se rapportant au matériel roulant.

2. Quelle est la différence entre le dépôt d'un document en vertu de l'article 104 et en vertu de l'article 105 de la LTC?

L'article 104 de la LTC autorise le dépôt des actes constatant une hypothèque et de tout autre document connexe. Par contre, l'article 105 fait référence non pas à un document, mais à un type d'opération, à savoir le louage, la vente, la vente conditionnelle, l'hypothèque, le baillement ou l'accord de garantie se rapportant au matériel roulant.

3. Le dépôt d'un document en vertu de l'article 104 ou 105 de la LTC, selon le cas, rend-il facultatif un enregistrement provincial?

Le dépôt d'un document en vertu de l'article 104 ou 105 de la LTC, selon le cas, semble rendre facultatif l'enregistrement au niveau provincialNote de bas de page 1. Le libellé des deux articles semble rendre facultatif le dépôt provincial. Le dépôt exclusivement au niveau fédéral est à l'entière discrétion de l'utilisateur.

4. Le dépôt en vertu de l'article 104 ou 105 de la LTC établit-il un système de priorités?

Corporations Canada n'est pas en mesure de fournir un avis juridique sur ce point.

5. Si un document est enregistré en vertu de l'Interstate Commerce Act des États-Unis, doit-il également être déposé en vertu de l'article 105 de la LTC?

Oui. L'article 11301 du Titre 49 du Code des États-Unis (auparavant l'article 20c de l'Interstate Commerce Act) est l'équivalent américain de l'article 105 de la LTC. Corporations Canada sait que la loi américaine donne effet aux dépôts effectués en vertu de la LTC, mais la LTC ne renferme aucune disposition de réciprocité. Toutefois, Corporations Canada est conscient des dispositions relatives au dépôt en vertu du régime américain et ses procédures autorisent le dépôt des mémoires et des résumés conformément à la pratique en vigueur dans ce régime.

6. Qu'entend-on par « matériel roulant »?

L'article 6 de la LTC définit comme suit le matériel roulant :

« matériel roulant » Toute sorte de voitures et de matériel muni de roues destinés à servir sur les rails d'un chemin de fer, y compris les locomotives, machines actionnées par quelque force motrice, voitures automotrices, tenders, chasse-neige et flangers.

Aux fins du dépôt d'un document en vertu de l'article 105 de la LTC, Corporations Canada fait remarquer les termes additionnels « ou de ses accessoires et équipements connexes » dans l'article suivant le renvoi au matériel roulant.

7. Existe-t-il pour les dépôts effectués en vertu de l'article 105 un système d'indexage similaire à celui tenu par le Surface Transportation Board aux États-Unis?

La base de données ne renferme aucun index comme celui qui existe en vertu de l'Interstate Commerce Act des États-Unis. Les documents sont simplement numérisés dans le système et la recherche s'effectue en fonction de champs. Il n'existe aucun renvoi aux documents, y compris les documents primaires et secondaires, même s'ils sont déposés en « lot » le même jour. Les lettres de transmission ne sont pas numérisées dans la base de données.

8. Le déposant doit-il publier un avis de dépôt dans la Gazette du Canada pour que le dépôt prenne effet?

À la suite des modifications à la LTC entrées en vigueur le 22 juin 2007, la publication d'un avis dans la Gazette du Canada n'est plus requise.

9. Est-ce que Corporations Canada fournira sur demande une lettre ou un rapport au bureau provincial d'enregistrement à propos des enregistrements en cours en vertu de l'article 104 de la LTC?

Le personnel de Corporations Canada n'effectuera aucune recherche générale ou complémentaire et ne répondra à aucune demande de dossiers et ne sera donc pas en mesure de fournir de l'information, certifiée ou non, aux bureaux provinciaux d'enregistrement des biens immobiliers ou des sûretés mobilières ou à toute autre personne.

Date de modification :