Model by-laws – Business corporations

Model by-Laws

By-Law No. (Indicate the number of the by-law) (Indicate the name of the corporation)

A by-law relating generally to the transaction of the business and affairs of (indicate the name of the corporation) (hereinafter referred to as the "Corporation")

Directors

1. Calling of and notice of meetings: Meetings of the board shall be held at such place and time and on such day as the President, Vice President or Secretary or any two directors may determine. Notice of meetings of the board shall be given to each director not less than 48 hours before the time when the meeting is to be held. Each newly-elected board may without notice hold its first meeting for the purposes of organization and the appointment of officers immediately following the meeting of shareholders at which such board is elected.

2. Votes to govern: At all meetings of the board, every question shall be decided by a majority of the votes cast on the question; and in case of an equality of votes, the chair of the meeting (shall/ shall not [indicate one option]) be entitled to a second or casting vote.

3. Interest of directors and officers generally in contracts: No director or officer shall be disqualified by his/her office from contracting with the Corporation nor shall any contract or arrangement entered into by or on behalf of the Corporation with any director or officer or in which any director or officer is in any way interested be liable to be voided nor shall any director or officer so contracting or being so interested be liable to account to the Corporation for any profit realized by any such contract or arrangement by reason of such director or officer holding that office or of the fiduciary relationship thereby established, provided that the director or officer shall have complied with the provisions of the Canada Business Corporations Act.

Shareholders' meetings

4. Location and quorum: Meetings of shareholders shall be held at the registered office of the Corporation or elsewhere in the municipality in which the registered office is located or, if the board shall so determine, at some other place in Canada or, if all the shareholders entitled to vote at the meeting so agree, at some place outside Canada. At any meeting of shareholders, a quorum shall be (any number you decide) persons present in person and each entitled to vote thereat [and holding or representing by proxy not less than (any number you decide) percent of the votes entitled to be cast thereat].

Indemnification

5. Indemnification of directors and officers: The Corporation shall indemnify a director or officer of the Corporation, a former director or officer of the Corporation or a person who acts or acted at the Corporation's request as a director or officer of a body corporate of which the Corporation is or was a shareholder or creditor, and his/her heirs and legal representatives to the extent permitted by the Canada Business Corporations Act.

6. Indemnity of others: Except as otherwise required by the Canada Business Corporations Act and subject to paragraph 5, the Corporation may from time to timeindemnify and save harmless any person who was or is a party or is threatened to be made a party to any threatened, pending or completed activity, suit or proceeding, whether civil, criminal, administrative or investigative (other than an activity by or in the right of the Corporation) by reason of the fact that he or she is an employee or agent of the Corporation, or is or was serving at the request of the Corporation as a director, officer, employee, agent of or participant in another body corporate, partnership, joint venture, trust or other enterprise, against expenses (including legal fees), judgments, fines and any amount actually and reasonably incurred by him/her in connection with such activity, suit or proceeding if he/she acted honestly and in good faith with a view to the best interests of the Corporation and, with respect to anyis enforced by a monetary penalty, had reasonable grounds for believing that his/her conduct was lawful. The termination of any activity, suit or proceeding by judgment, order, settlement or conviction shall not, of itself, create a presumption that the person did not act honestly and in good faith with a view to the best interests of the Corporation and, with respect to any criminal or administrative activity or proceeding that is enforced by a monetary penalty, had no reasonable grounds for believing that his/her conduct was lawful.

7. Right of indemnity not exclusive: The provisions for indemnification contained in the by-laws of the Corporation shall not be deemed exclusive of any other rights to which any person seeking indemnification may be entitled under any agreement, vote of shareholders or directors or otherwise, both as to activity in his/her official capacity and as to activity in another capacity, and shall continue as to a person who has ceased to be a director, officer, employee or agent and shall inure to the benefit of the heirs and legal representatives of such a person.

8. No liability of directors or officers for certain matters: To the extent permitted by the by-laws, no director or officer for the time being of the Corporation shall be liable for the acts, receipts, neglects or defaults of any other director or officer or employee or for joining in any receipt or act for conformity or for any loss, damage or expense happening to the Corporation through the insufficiency or deficiency of title to any property acquired by the Corporation or for or on behalf of the Corporation or for the insufficiency or deficiency of any security in or upon which any of the moneys of or belonging to the Corporation shall be placed out or invested or for any loss or damage arising from the bankruptcy, insolvency or tortious act of any person, firm or body corporate with whom or which any moneys, securities or other assets belonging to the Corporation shall be lodged or deposited or for any loss, conversion, misapplication or misappropriation of or any damage resulting from any dealings with any moneys, securities or other assets belonging to the Corporation or for any other loss, damage or misfortune whatever that may happen in the execution of the duties of his/ her respective office or trust or in relation thereto unless the same shall happen by or through his/ her failure to act honestly and in good faith with a view to the best interests of the Corporation and in connection therewith to exercise the care, diligence and skill that a reasonably prudent person would exercise in comparable circumstances. If any director or officer of the Corporation shall be employed by or shall perform services for the Corporation otherwise than as a director or officer or shall be a member of a firm or a shareholder, director or officer of a body corporate that is employed by or performs services for the Corporation, the fact of his/her being a director or officer of the Corporation shall not disentitle such director or officer or such firm or body corporate, as the case may be, from receiving proper remuneration for such services.

Banking arrangements, contracts, etc.

9. Banking arrangements: The banking business of the Corporation, or any part thereof, shall be transacted with such banks, trust companies or other financial institutions as the board may designate, appoint or authorize from time to time by resolution and all such banking business, or any part thereof, shall be transacted on the Corporation's behalf by such one or more officers and/or other persons as the board may designate, direct or authorize from time to time by resolution and to the extent therein provided.

10. Execution of instruments: Contracts, documents or instruments in writing requiring execution by the Corporation shall be signed by any (indicate a number) officers or directors, and all contracts, documents or instruments in writing so signed shall be binding upon the Corporation without any further authorization or formality. The board is authorized from time to time by resolution to appoint any officer or officers or any other person or persons on behalf of the Corporation to sign and deliver either contracts, documents or instruments in writing generally or to sign either manually or by facsimile signature and deliver specific contracts, documents or instruments in writing. The term "contracts, documents or instruments in writing" as used in this by-law shall include deeds, mortgages, charges, conveyances, powers of attorney, transfers and assignments of property of all kinds (including specifically but without limitation transfers and assignments of shares, warrants, bonds, debentures or other securities), proxies for shares and other securities and all paper writings.

Miscellaneous

11. Invalidity of any provisions of this by-law: The invalidity or unenforceability of any provision of this by-law shall not affect the validity or enforceability of the remaining provisions of this by-law.

12. Omissions and errors: The accidental omission to give any notice to any shareholder, director, officer or auditor or the non-receipt of any notice by any shareholder, director, officer or auditor or any error in any notice not affecting the substance thereof shall not invalidate any activity taken at any meeting held pursuant to such notice or otherwise founded thereon.

Interpretation

13. Interpretation: In this by-law and all other by-laws of the Corporation, words importing the singular number only shall include the plural and vice versa; words importing the masculine gender shall include the feminine and neuter genders; words importing persons shall include an individual, partnership, association, body corporate, executor, administrator or legal representative and any number or aggregate of persons; "articles" include the original or restated Articles of Incorporation, Articles of Amendment, Articles of Amalgamation, Articles of Continuance, Articles of Reorganization, Articles of Arrangement and Articles of Revival; "board" shall mean the board of directors of the Corporation; "Canada Business Corporations Act" shall mean Canada Business Corporations Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. C-44 as amended from time to time or any Act that may hereafter be substituted therefore; and "meeting of shareholders" shall mean and include an annual general meeting of shareholders and a special meeting of shareholders.

Repeal

The next clause should be included only if previous by-laws are being replaced.

14. Repeal: By-laws No. (indicate the number of the by-law) of the Corporation are repealed as of the coming into force of this by-law, provided that such repeal shall not affect the previous operation of any by-law so repealed or affect the validity of any act done or right, privilege, obligation or liability acquired or incurred under or the validity of any contract or agreement made pursuant to any such by-law prior to its repeal.

All officers and persons acting under any by-law so repealed shall continue to act as if appointed by the directors under the provisions of this by-law or the Canada Business Corporations Act until their successors are appointed.

  • Dated: (indicate the day, month and year)
  • President: (signature)
  • Secretary: (signature)

Resolution of the directors and shareholders of (indicate the name of the corporation)

Resolved that the foregoing By-law No. (Indicate the number of the by-law) is made a by-law of the Corporation.

The undersigned, being all the directors of (indicate the name of the corporation), hereby sign the foregoing resolution.

  • Dated: (indicate the day, month and year)
  • Director: (signature)
  • Director: (signature)

Resolved that the foregoing By-law No. (Indicate the number of the by-law) of the by-laws of the Corporation is hereby confirmed.

The undersigned, being all the shareholders of (indicate the name of the corporation), hereby sign the foregoing resolution.

  • Dated: (indicate the day, month and year)
  • Shareholder: (signature)
  • Shareholder: (signature)
Date modified:

Modèles de règlements administratifs – Sociétés par actions

Modèle de règlements administratifs

Règlement no (indiquez le numéro du règlement) (Indiquez la dénomination sociale de la société)

Règlement administratif régissant les activités et les affaires de (indiquez la dénomination sociale de la société) (ci-après la « société »)

Administrateurs

1. Convocation et avis des réunions : Les réunions du conseil d'administration se dérouleront à l'endroit, à la date et à l'heure déterminés par le président de la société, le vice-président ou le secrétaire ou deux des administrateurs. Chaque administrateur sera avisé de la réunion du conseil au moins 48 heures avant la tenue de ladite réunion. Chaque conseil nouvellement élu pourra sans avis, immédiatement après l'assemblée des actionnaires durant laquelle il aura été élu, tenir sa première réunion afin de procéder à l'organisation de la société et à la nomination de dirigeants.

2. Règles de scrutin : à toutes les réunions du conseil, chaque décision sera prise à la majorité des voix exprimées; en cas de partage des voix, le président de l'assemblée (aura ou n'aura pas : indiquez une seule option) voix prépondérante.

3. Intérêt des administrateurs ou des dirigeants dans un marché : Aucun administrateur ou dirigeant ne sera empêché, de par sa fonction, de conclure un marché avec la société, et aucun marché ou arrangement qui sera conclu par la société ou en son nom avec un administrateur ou dirigeant, ou auquel un administrateur ou dirigeant sera de quelque façon intéressé, ne pourra être annulé, et aucun administrateur ou dirigeant qui conclura ainsi un marché avec la société ou qui aura un intérêt dans ce marché, ne sera tenu, de par sa fonction d'administrateur ou de dirigeant, ou en raison de la relation fiduciaire ainsi établie, de rendre compte à la société des bénéfices réalisés sur ce marché ou arrangement, pour autant que l'administrateur ou le dirigeant se soit conformé aux dispositions de la Loi canadienne sur les sociétés par actions.

Assemblées des actionnaires

4. Lieu et quorum : Les assemblées des actionnaires se dérouleront au siège social de la société ou ailleurs dans la municipalité où le siège social est situé ou, si le conseil d'administration le juge opportun, en un autre lieu au Canada ou, si tous les actionnaires ayant droit de vote à l'assemblée y consentent, à un endroit situé hors du Canada. à toute assemblée des actionnaires, il y aura quorum lorsque seront présentes (indiquez un nombre) personnes ayant droit de voter à cette assemblée et détenant ou représentant par procuration au moins (indiquez un chiffre) pour cent des voix pouvant être exprimées à cette assemblée.

Indemnisation

5. Indemnisation des administrateurs et des dirigeants : La société indemnisera un administrateur ou dirigeant de la société, un ancien administrateur ou dirigeant de la société ou une personne qui assume ou a assumé, à la demande de la société, les fonctions d'administrateur ou de dirigeant d'une personne morale dont la société est ou était actionnaire ou créancier, ainsi que les héritiers et représentants légaux dudit administrateur ou dirigeant, dans la mesure autorisée par la Loi canadienne sur les sociétés par actions.

6. Indemnisation d'autres personnes : Sauf dans la mesure prévue par la Loi canadienne sur les sociétés par actions et sous réserve du paragraphe 5, la société pourra indemniser et garantir contre toute responsabilité toute personne qui a été, qui est ou qui risque de devenir partie à une activité, à un procès ou à une procédure de nature civile, criminelle, administrative ou d'enquête (autre qu'une activité exercée par la société ou dépendant de la société) pour le motif que cette personne est ou était un employé ou un mandataire de la société, ou pour le motif qu'elle exerce ou exerçait, à la demande de la société, les fonctions d'administrateur, de dirigeant, d'employé, de mandataire ou de participant d'une autre personne morale, société en nom collectif, coentreprise, fiducie ou autre entreprise, à l'égard des frais (y compris les frais de justice), jugements, amendes et autres éléments de passif effectivement et raisonnablement supportés par cette personne dans le cadre de l'activité, du procès ou de la procédure, à condition que cette personne ait agi honnêtement, de bonne foi et au mieux des intérêts de la société et qu'en ce qui concerne une activité ou procédure criminelle ou administrative assortie d'une sanction monétaire, elle ait eu des motifs raisonnables de croire que sa conduite était licite. La fin d'une activité, d'un procès ou d'une procédure à la suite d'un jugement, d'une ordonnance, d'un compromis ou d'une condamnation ne permettra pas automatiquement de présumer que la personne n'a pas agi honnêtement, de bonne foi et au mieux des intérêts de la société ou qu'en ce qui concerne une activité ou procédure criminelle ou administrative assortie d'une sanction monétaire, elle n'avait pas de motifs raisonnables de croire que sa conduite était licite.

7. Caractère non exclusif du droit à indemnisation: Les dispositions en matière d'indemnisation qui figurent dans les règlements administratifs de la société ne sont pas réputées exclure les autres droits dont une personne qui demande à être indemnisée pourrait se prévaloir en vertu, par exemple, d'un accord ou d'un vote des actionnaires ou des administrateurs, tant en ce qui concerne les activités exercées par cette personne en sa qualité officielle que les activités exercées par elle à un autre titre, et elles demeureront applicables à une personne qui n'est plus administrateur, dirigeant, employé ou mandataire et bénéficieront aux héritiers ou aux représentants légaux de cette personne.

8. Absence de responsabilité des administrateurs ou des dirigeants dans certains cas : Dans la mesure autorisée par la loi, aucun administrateur ou dirigeant actuel de la société ne répondra des actes, des quittances, des négligences ou des manquements d'un autre administrateur, dirigeant ou employé, ni de son propre assentiment à une quittance ou à un acte pour en assurer la conformité, ni de la perte, du préjudice ou des frais subis par la société en raison de l'insuffisance ou des lacunes du titre de propriété d'un bien acquis par la société ou pour son compte, ni de l'insuffisance ou des lacunes d'une valeur mobilière dans laquelle des fonds appartenant à la société ont été investis, ni de la perte ou du préjudice résultant de la faillite, de l'insolvabilité ou de la conduite délictueuse d'une personne, d'une firme ou d'une personne morale auprès de laquelle des fonds, des valeurs mobilières ou d'autres actifs appartenant à la société ont été déposés, ni de la perte, du détournement, de la soustraction ou du dommage résultant d'opérations effectuées avec des fonds, des valeurs mobilières ou d'autres actifs appartenant à la société, ni d'un autre dommage ou préjudice quel qu'il soit pouvant survenir dans l'exercice des fonctions de cet administrateur ou dirigeant, à moins que ces événements ne surviennent parce qu'il n'a pas agi honnêtement et de bonne foi, dans l'intérêt de la société, et qu'il n'a pas montré le soin, la diligence et la compétence qu'une personne raisonnablement prudente montrerait dans des circonstances similaires. Si un administrateur ou un dirigeant de la société est employé par la société ou exécute des services pour la société autrement qu'à titre d'administrateur ou de dirigeant ou est membre d'une firme ou actionnaire, administrateur ou dirigeant d'une personne morale qui est employée par la société ou qui exécute des services pour la société, son statut d'administrateur ou de dirigeant de la société n'empêchera pas cet administrateur ou ce dirigeant ni cette firme ou cette personne morale, selon le cas, de recevoir une juste rétribution pour de tels services.

Conventions bancaires, contrats, etc.

9. Conventions bancaires : Les opérations bancaires de la société, ou une partie quelconque d'entre elles, seront effectuées auprès des banques, sociétés de fiducie ou autres établissements financiers que le conseil pourra désigner, nommer ou autoriser par résolution, et toutes lesdites opérations bancaires, ou une partie quelconque d'entre elles, seront effectuées au nom de la société par le ou les dirigeants et/ou les autres personnes que le conseil pourra désigner ou autoriser par résolution, et dans la mesure prévue par telle résolution.

10. Signature d'instruments : Les contrats, documents ou instruments écrits qui requièrent la signature de la société seront signés par (indiquez ici un nombre) des dirigeants ou administrateurs, et tous les contrats, documents ou instruments écrits ainsi signés lieront la société sans autre autorisation ni formalité. Le conseil est autorisé à nommer par résolution un ou plusieurs dirigeants, ou d'autres personnes, qui, au nom de la société, signeront et remettront tous les contrats, documents ou instruments écrits ou signeront, par signature manuscrite ou autographiée, et remettront tel ou tel contrat, document ou instrument écrit. L'expression « contrats, documents ou instruments écrits », utilisée dans le présent règlement administratif, comprend les actes, les hypothèques, les privilèges, les contrats translatifs de propriété, les procurations, les transferts et cessions de biens de toutes sortes (notamment les transferts et cessions d'actions, de bons de souscription, d'obligations, de débentures et autres titres), les procurations se rapportant à des actions ou autres titres, et les écrits de toute nature.

Dispositions diverses

11. Invalidité de certaines dispositions du présent règlement administratif : L'invalidité ou le caractère inapplicable d'une disposition du présent règlement administratif n'aura pas d'effet sur la validité ou l'applicabilité de ses dispositions restantes.

12. Omissions et erreurs : La non-signification accidentelle d'un avis à un actionnaire, un administrateur, un dirigeant ou un vérificateur, ou la non-réception d'un tel avis par un actionnaire, un administrateur, un dirigeant ou un vérificateur, ou la présence, dans un avis, d'une erreur quelconque qui ne modifie pas la substance de l'avis, n'aura pas pour effet d'invalider une décision prise lors d'une assemblée tenue à la suite d'un tel avis, ni d'invalider un acte fondé sur une telle décision.

Interprétation

13. Interprétation: Dans le présent règlement administratif et dans tous les autres règlements administratifs de la société, le singulier comprend le pluriel, et viceversa; le masculin comprend le féminin et le neutre; le mot « personne » comprend une personne physique, une société en nom collectif, une association, une personne morale, un exécuteur testamentaire, un administrateur général ou un représentant légal, ainsi que tout groupe de personnes; le mot « statuts comprend les statuts constitutifs originaux ou mis à jour, les statuts de modification, les statuts de fusion, les statuts de prorogation, les statuts de réorganisation et les statuts de reconstitution; le mot « conseil » s'entend du conseil d'administration de la société; l'expression « Loi canadienne sur les sociétés par actions » s'entend de la Loi canadienne sur les sociétés par actions, L.R.C. 1985, ch. C-44, avec ses modifications, ainsi que toute loi qui pourrait éventuellement lui être substituée; et l'expression « assemblée des actionnaires » s'entend d'une assemblée générale annuelle des actionnaires ou d'une assemblée extraordinaire des actionnaires.

Abrogation

La clause qui suit ne devrait être insérée que si des règlements administratifs antérieurs sont remplacés.

14. Abrogation : Le règlement administratif no (indiquez le numéro du règlement administratif) de la société est abrogé à l'entrée en vigueur du présent règlement administratif, mais cette abrogation est sans effet sur l'application antérieure du règlement administratif ainsi abrogé et sur la validité d'un acte accompli, d'un droit ou d'un privilège acquis, d'une obligation ou d'une responsabilité assumée, ou d'un contrat ou accord conclu conformément à ce règlement administratif avant son abrogation. Les dirigeants et les personnes agissant conformément à un règlement administratif ainsi abrogé continueront d'agir comme s'ils avaient été nommés par les administrateurs en vertu des dispositions du présent règlement administratif ou en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur les sociétés par actions, et cela jusqu'à la nomination de leurs successeurs.

  • Date : (indiquer le jour, mois, année)
  • Président de la société : (signature)
  • Secrétaire: (signature)

Résolution des administrateurs et des actionnaires de (indiquez la dénomination sociale de la société)

Il est résolu que le règlement administratif (indiquez le numéro du règlement administratif) ci-haut est déclaré règlement administratif de la société.

Les soussignés, tous administrateurs de (indiquez la dénomination sociale de la société), signent ici la résolution qui précède

  • Date : (indiquer le jour, mois, année)
  • Administrateur : (signature)
  • Administrateur : (signature)

Il est résolu que le règlement administratif (indiquez le numéro du règlement administratif) ci-haut de la société est par les présentes confirmé.

Les soussignés, soit tous les actionnaires de (indiquez la dénomination sociale de la société), signent par les présentes la résolution qui précède.

  • Date : (indiquer le jour, mois, année)
  • Actionnaire : (signature)
  • Actionnaire : (signature)
Date de modification :