New online service – Letter of Satisfaction

As of July 5, 2016, registered intermediaries will be able to request a Letter of Satisfaction online ̶ one of the steps involved in continuing a federal corporation into another jurisdiction. In the case of a pre-approved statute, the request will be processed automatically and the Letter of Satisfaction will be issued through the online system.

Letters of Satisfaction issued by Corporations Canada following requests submitted online or on paper, under the Canadian Business Corporations Act (CBCA) and the Canada Not-for-profit Corporations Act (NFP Act), will indicate the name of the jurisdiction as well as the title of the importing legislation. Letters of Satisfaction issued before this change will remain valid.

It should be noted that in addition to this new service, two policies were reviewed and modified and, will be published on July 5: the policies on continuance (export) under both the CBCA and the NFP Act. To learn more about these changes, see the Policy on continuance (export) for federal business corporations and the Policy on continuance (export) for not-for-profit corporations.

Date modified:

Nouveau service en ligne – Lettre de satisfaction

À compter du 5 juillet 2016, les intermédiaires enregistrés pourront faire la demande d’une Lettre de satisfaction en ligne ̶ une des étapes pour proroger une société de régime fédéral en vertu d’une autre loi. Dans le cas d’une loi pré-approuvée, la demande sera traitée automatiquement et la Lettre de satisfaction sera émise par l’entremise du système informatique.

Les Lettres de satisfaction émises par Corporations Canada à la suite de demandes soumises en ligne ou sur support papier en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur les sociétés par actions (LCSA) et de la Loi canadienne sur les organisations à but non lucratif (Loi BNL) indiqueront le nom de l’autorité législative ainsi que le titre de la loi importatrice. Les Lettres de satisfaction émises avant le présent changement demeureront valides.

Il est à noter qu’en plus de ce nouveau service, deux politiques ont été revues et modifiées, soit les Politiques sur la prorogation (exportation) en vertu de la LCSA et de la Loi BNL; elles seront aussi publiées le 5 juillet. Pour en savoir davantage sur les modifications apportées, voir la Politique sur la prorogation (exportation) d’une société par actions de régime fédéral et la Politique sur la prorogation (exportation) d’une organisation à but non lucratif.

Date de modification :