Are all not-for-profit corporations the same?

Are all not-for-profit corporations registered charities? Do not-for-profit corporations have restrictions on the types of business activities they can conduct? Are all not-for-profit corporations allowed to make a profit? The term “not-for-profit”, as it is used in the Canada Not-for-profit Corporations Act (NFP Act), is often misunderstood.

On this page

Not-for-profit and business corporations

When an organization is incorporated under the NFP Act, it is commonly known as a federal not for profit corporation. By contrast, an organization that is incorporated under the Canada Business Corporations Act is generally referred to as a business corporation.

Income tax

Not-for-profit corporations are not automatically considered “registered charities” or “non-profit organizations” for income tax purposes (see What is the difference between a registered charity and a non-profit organization?). Not-for-profit corporations, therefore, are not necessarily exempt from paying regular corporate taxes under the Income Tax Act.

Business activities

Not-for-profit corporations are free to conduct the same business activities as business corporations. In other words, not-for-profit corporations can make a profit. If they do, not-for-profit corporations could have to pay regular corporate taxes under the Income Tax Act.

Shareholders and members

The main difference between not-for-profit corporations and business corporations has to do with the way that they are structured. On the one hand, business corporations issue shares, which represent ownership in a corporation; the owners of business corporations are the shareholders (see Your corporation’s shareholders).

On the other hand, not-for-profit corporations do not issue shares, and they have members. Not-for-profit-corporations cannot pay dividends.

Date modified:

Les organisations à but non lucratif sont-elles toutes identiques?

Les organisations à but non lucratif sont-elles toutes des organismes de bienfaisance enregistrés? Les organisations à but non lucratif sont-elles soumises à des restrictions quant aux activités commerciales qu'elles peuvent exercer? Les organisations à but non lucratif sont-elles autorisées à faire des profits? Le terme « à but non lucratif », tel qu'il est utilisé dans la Loi canadienne sur les organisations à but non lucratif (Loi BNL) est souvent mal compris.

Sur cette page

Organisations à but non lucratif et sociétés par actions

Lorsqu'une organisation est incorporée en vertu de la Loi BNL, elle est communément désignée comme étant une organisation à but non lucratif de régime fédéral. En revanche, une société qui est incorporée en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur les sociétés par actions est généralement appelée une société par actions.

Impôt sur le revenu

Les organisations à but non lucratif ne sont pas automatiquement considérées comme des « organismes de bienfaisance enregistrés » ni des « organismes sans but lucratif » aux fins de l'impôt sur le revenu (voir Quelle est la différence entre un organisme de bienfaisance enregistré et un organisme sans but lucratif?). Par conséquent, les organisations à but non lucratif ne sont pas nécessairement exemptes d'impôts sur le revenu en vertu de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu.

Activités commerciales

Les organisations à but non lucratif peuvent exercer en toute liberté les mêmes activités que les sociétés par actions. En d'autres termes, les organisations à but non lucratif peuvent réaliser des profits. Si elles font des profits, ces organisations peuvent avoir à payer des impôts sur le revenu en vertu de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu.

Actionnaires et membres

La principale différence entre les organisations à but non lucratif et les sociétés par actions se traduit par la manière dont elles sont structurées. D'un côté, les sociétés par actions émettent des actions, qui représentent une propriété dans la société : les propriétaires de la société sont les actionnaires (voir Les actionnaires de votre société).

De l'autre côté, les organisations à but non lucratif n'émettent pas d'actions et elles comptent des membres. Les organisations à but non lucratif ne peuvent pas payer de dividendes.

Date de modification :