Checklist to Avoid Common Deficiencies in Form 4032 – Articles of Revival (transition)

Many applications for revival (transition) under the Canada Not-for-profit Corporations Act (NFP Act) are returned to the applicant because of deficiencies. Using this checklist will reduce the chances of the application being returned because of deficiencies. For help on completing the form, review Instructions for completing Form 4032 – Articles of Revival (transition).

On this page

Note

This document only applies to corporations dissolved by Corporations Canada for a failure to transition from the Canada Corporations Act, Part II (CCA-II) to the NFP Act. Any other corporation looking to continue (transition) should communicate with Corporations Canada.

Form 4032 – Articles of Revival (transition)

In general, an application will not be acceptable if the articles are making reference to:

  • the Canada Corporations Act, Part II (CCA-II)
  • documents issued under the CCA-II (meaning Letters Patent, Supplementary Letters Patent) or
  • the by-laws

When filling out Form 4032 – Articles of Revival (transition), also note that:

  • Item 1 must set out the full current legal name of the corporation (you can find it by consulting Search for a Federal Corporation).
    • If the corporation has a legal name in both official languages, indicate the name in one official language in Item 1A and indicate the name in the other official language in Item 1B.
    • Complete Item 2 only if a new corporate name is being proposed. If no new corporate name is being proposed, leave Item 2 blank (do not write anything if no change is being requested).
  • Item 3 contains the corporation number that Corporations Canada assigns to each corporation upon incorporation (you can find it by using the Search for a Federal Corporation). Note that this is not the business number assigned by the Canada Revenue Agency.
  • Item 4 contains the province/territory where the registered office is located. It corresponds to the address set out in Item 2 on Form 4002 – Initial Registered Office Address and First Board of Directors.
  • Item 5 sets out the minimum and a maximum number of directors. The number of directors that is set out in Item 3 on Form 4002 – Initial Registered Office Address and First Board of Directors must be within the minimum and maximum numbers set out here.
  • Item 6 contains a statement of purpose for the corporation. This provision may have been included in the letters patent as the "objects" of the corporation. This field cannot be blank or contain the words "None" or "N/A".
  • Item 7 contains the restrictions on the activities that the corporation may carry on, if any. If there are no restriction on activities, it should contain the words "None" or "N/A". If left blank, it means there are no restrictions.
  • Item 8 contains the names of the classes or groups of members and the voting rights for each class or group. This item cannot be blank or contain the words "None" or "N/A".
    • Every corporation must have at least one class or group of members; in this case, all members are voting members. A corporation may have two or more classes or groups of members. Not all classes or groups have to be given the right to vote, but at least one class must have this right.
      • Example of Unacceptable provision: "There are 8 different classes: Active, Affiliate, Associate, Resident, Student, Retired and Honorary." (unacceptable because voting rights are not specified for each class.)
    • The information in Item 8 must clearly describe the classes or groups
      • Unacceptable provisions: "There are no special classes." (unacceptable because no class is specified) or "Paid membership – voting." (unacceptable because the description of the class or group is unclear.)
    • The information in Item 8 must not set out the membership conditions or the process for applying for membership or becoming a member. This information is usually contained in the corporation's by-laws (see By-law builder). If conditions of membership need to be included in the articles, it is best to set them out in Item 10: Additional provisions.
      • Unacceptable provision: "Membership in the corporation is confined to persons who have made a public statement in support of the philosophy of the corporation and who have qualified for membership. New applicants for membership shall be interviewed by two Senior Members." (It is unacceptable because it does not describe the rights of a class or group of members and primarily describes the process of becoming a member.)
    • Item 9 contains a statement about where the remaining property of the corporation goes upon liquidation. It cannot be left blank or contain the words "None" or "N/A" as the corporation must dispose of all property before it can be dissolved. Acceptable provisions include:
      • returning property to another person if the property was originally given to the corporation on the condition that it be returned when the corporation is to be dissolved
      • paying any debt or other liabilities of the corporation
      • distributing any remaining property according to the statement.
        • Note that registered charities and soliciting corporations must provide that any property remaining upon liquidation be distributed to one or more qualified donees, within the meaning of the Income Tax Act. Acceptable provision: "Any property remaining on liquidation of the Corporation, after discharge of liabilities, shall be distributed to one or more qualified donees within the meaning of subsection 248(1) of the Income Tax Act."
    • Item 10 either contains the word "None" or contains the additional provisions that the corporation wants in its articles. If left blank, it means there are no additional provisions.
    • Item 11 indicates the applicant's relationship with the dissolved corporation.
    • Item 12 contains the signature of a director or an authorized officer of the corporation.

top of page

Form 4002 – Initial Registered Office Address and First Board of Directors

Item 1 must match the corporate name appearing on Form 4032 – Articles of Revival (transition), based on one of the following scenarios:

  • if a new corporate name is not being proposed, indicate the corporate name exactly as it is set out in Item 1 on Form 4032 – Articles of Revival (transition)
    or
  • if a new name is being proposed, indicate the proposed new name of the corporation exactly as it is set out in Item 2 on Form 4032 – Articles of Revival (transition).

Item 2:

  • Indicate the street name and number, city, province or territory, and postal code of the registered office.
  • The registered office must be within the province or territory set out in Item 4 on Form 4032 – Articles of Revival (transition).
  • The address cannot be a post office box.

Item 3:

  • Indicate the first and last names of the individuals who will be directors upon the revival (transition) of the corporation.
  • Each director must have a residential address or another address for service.
  • The addresses are not post office box addresses.
  • The number of directors corresponds with the minimum and maximum or fixed number of directors indicated in Item 5 on Form 4031 – Articles of Continuance (transition).
  • If the space available is insufficient, attach a schedule.

Item 4 contains the signature of an individual who will be a director or an authorized officer of the corporation upon revival.


top of page

Nuans name search report

Include a Nuans name search report if a new corporate name is being proposed in Item 2 on Form 4032 – Articles of Revival (transition) or if the corporation has been dissolved for more than two years

The Nuans name search report must be less than 90 days old.


top of page

Resolutions of directors or members and minutes of meetings

Do not include copies of resolutions of directors or members approving the articles or copies of minutes of meetings approving the revival (transition).

Date modified:

Liste de vérification pour éviter les erreurs fréquentes dans le formulaire 4032 – Statuts de reconstitution (transition)

Un nombre important de demandes de reconstitution (transition) en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur les organisations à but non lucratif (Loi BNL) sont retournées au demandeur en raison d'erreurs. L'utilisation de cette liste de vérification réduira les chances que la demande soit retournée en raison d'erreurs. Afin d'obtenir de l'aide pour remplir le formulaire, consulter les Instructions relatives au Formulaire 4032 – Statuts de reconstitution (transition).

Sur cette page

Note

Ce document ne s'applique qu'aux corporations dissoutes par Corporation Canada pour ne pas avoir fait la transition de la Loi sur les corporations canadiennes, partie II (LCC-II) à la Loi BNL. Toute autre corporation qui souhaite faire une demande de reconstitution (transition) devrait communiquer avec Corporations Canada.

Formulaire 4032 – Statuts de reconstitution (transition)

En général, une demande n'est pas acceptable si les statuts font référence à ce qui suit :

  • la Loi sur les corporations canadiennes, partie II (LCC-II)
  • des documents émis en vertu de la LCC-II (à savoir les lettres patentes, les lettres patentes supplémentaires)
  • les règlements administratifs

Lorsque vous remplissez le Formulaire 4032 – Statuts de reconstitution (transition), tenez compte que :

  • La rubrique 1 indique le nom légal complet de l'organisation (vous pouvez le trouver dans Recherche d'une société de régime fédéral).
    • Si l'organisation a une dénomination dans les deux langues officielles, indiquez la dénomination dans une langue officielle à la rubrique 1A et la dénomination dans l'autre langue officielle à la rubrique 1B.
    • Complétez la rubrique 2 uniquement si une modification à la dénomination est proposée. Si aucune nouvelle dénomination n'est proposée, n'inscrivez rien à la rubrique 2 (n'inscrivez rien si aucun changement n'est demandé).
  • La rubrique 3 contient le numéro de l'organisation assigné par Corporations Canada à chaque organisation au moment de sa constitution (vous pouvez le trouver dans Recherche d'une société de régime fédéral). Notez que ceci n'est pas le numéro d'entreprise attribué par l'Agence du revenu du Canada.
  • La rubrique 4 contient la province ou le territoire où est situé le siège. Elle correspond à l'adresse indiquée à la rubrique 2 du Formulaire 4002 – Adresse initiale du siège et premier conseil d'administration.
  • La rubrique 5 contient le nombre minimal et maximal d'administrateurs. Les nombres d'administrateurs indiqués à la rubrique 3 du Formulaire 4002 – Adresse initiale du siège et premier conseil d'administration doivent se situer entre les nombres minimal et maximal indiqués ici.
  • La rubrique 6 contient une déclaration d'intention de l'organisation. Cette disposition pouvait se trouver dans les lettres patentes comme les « objets » de la corporation. Cette case ne peut être laissée vide ni contenir les mots « aucune » ou « S/O ».
  • La rubrique 7 contient les limites imposées aux activités de l'organisation, s'il y en a. S'il n'y a pas de restrictions sur les activités, elle devrait contenir les mots « aucune » ou « S/O. ». Si elle est laissée vide, cela signifie qu'il n'y a pas de limites.
  • La rubrique 8 contient les noms des catégories ou groupes de membres et les droits de vote associés à chaque catégorie ou groupe. Cette rubrique ne peut être laissée vide ni contenir les mots « aucune » ou « S/O. ».
    • Chaque corporation doit avoir au moins une catégorie ou un groupe de membres; dans ce cas, tous les membres sont des membres votants. Une organisation peut avoir plusieurs catégories ou groupes de membres. Dans ce cas, le droit de vote doit être attribué au moins à une catégorie ou groupe de membres, mais pas nécessairement à toutes.
      • Exemple de disposition inacceptable : « Il y a 8 différentes catégories : Actif, Affilié, Associé, Résident, Étudiant, Retraité et Honoraire. » (Inacceptable parce que les droits de vote pour chaque catégorie ne sont pas précisés.)
    • Les renseignements de la rubrique 8 doivent clairement décrire les catégories ou groupes de membres.
      • Dispositions inacceptables : « Il n'y a pas de catégories spéciales. » (Inacceptable parce qu'aucune catégorie n'est précisée) ou « Adhésion payante – droit de vote. » (Inacceptable parce que la description de la catégorie ou du groupe n'est pas claire.)
    • Les renseignements de la rubrique 8 ne doivent pas décrire les conditions d'adhésion ou le processus de demande d'adhésion. Ces renseignements sont habituellement contenus dans les règlements administratifs de l'organisation (voir l'Outil d'élaboration des règlements administratifs). Si les conditions d'adhésion doivent être incluses dans les statuts, il est mieux de les préciser à la rubrique 10 : Dispositions supplémentaires.
      • Disposition inacceptable : « L'adhésion à l'organisation se limite aux personnes qui ont fait une déclaration publique à l'appui de la philosophie de l'organisation et qui se sont qualifiées pour l'adhésion. Les nouveaux candidats à l'adhésion seront sélectionnés par deux membres principaux. » (inacceptable parce qu'on ne décrit pas une catégorie ou groupe de membres, mais on décrit principalement le processus pour devenir un membre.)
  • La rubrique 9 contient une déclaration relative à la répartition du reliquat des biens de la corporation lors de sa liquidation. Cette rubrique ne peut être laissée vide ni contenir les mots « aucune » ou « S/O » puisque l'organisation doit disposer de tous ses biens avant d'être dissoute. Des exemples de dispositions acceptables incluent :
    • la restitution des biens à une autre personne si, à l'origine, les biens avaient été donnés à l'organisation à la condition d'être restitués en cas de dissolution de celle-ci
    • le paiement des dettes ou autres obligations de l'organisation
    • la distribution du reliquat des biens conformément à la déclaration.
      • Notez que les organismes de bienfaisance enregistrés et les organisations ayant recours à la sollicitation doivent prévoir que le reliquat des biens à la liquidation soit distribué à un ou plusieurs donataires reconnus au sens de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu. Disposition acceptable : « Le reliquat des biens de l'organisation après le règlement de ses dettes sera transféré, en cas de liquidation, à un ou plusieurs donataires reconnus au sens du paragraphe 248(1) de la Loi de L'impôt sur le revenu. »
  • La rubrique 10 contient soit le mot « aucune » ou contient les dispositions supplémentaires que l'organisation veut avoir dans ses statuts. Si elle est laissée vide, cela signifie qu'il n'y a pas de dispositions supplémentaires.
  • La rubrique 11 indique la relation du demandeur avec la corporation dissoute.
  • La rubrique 12 contient la signature d'un administrateur ou d'un agent autorisé de l'organisation.


haut de la page

Formulaire 4002 – Adresse initiale du siège et premier conseil d'administration

La rubrique 1 doit correspondre à la dénomination sociale figurant sur le Formulaire 4032 – Statuts de reconstitution (transition), selon l'un des scénarios suivants :

  • si une nouvelle dénomination n'est pas proposée, indiquez la dénomination exactement comme elle apparait à la rubrique 1 du Formulaire 4032 – Statuts de reconstitution (transition)
    ou
  • si une nouvelle dénomination est proposée, indiquez la nouvelle dénomination proposée exactement comme elle apparait à la rubrique 2 du Formulaire 4032 – Statuts de reconstitution (transition).

Rubrique 2 :

  • Indiquez le nom de la rue et le numéro, la ville, la province ou le territoire et le code postal du siège.
  • Le siège doit être dans la province ou le territoire indiqué à la rubrique 4 du Formulaire 4032 – Statuts de reconstitution (transition).
  • L'adresse ne peut pas être une case postale.

Rubrique 3 :

  • Indiquez le prénom et le nom des personnes qui seront administrateurs lors de la reconstitution (transition) de l'organisation.
  • Chaque administrateur doit avoir une adresse résidentielle ou une autre adresse à des fins de signification;
  • Les adresses ne doivent pas être des cases postales.
  • Le nombre d'administrateurs correspond au nombre minimal et maximal ou au nombre fixe d'administrateurs indiqué à la rubrique 5 du formulaire 4031 – Statuts de prorogation (transition).
  • Si l'espace disponible est insuffisant, joignez une annexe.

La rubrique 4 contient la signature d'une personne qui deviendra un administrateur ou un dirigeant autorisé de l'organisation à la reconstitution.


haut de la page

Rapport de recherche de dénominations Nuans

Joignez un rapport Nuans de recherche de dénominations uniquement si une nouvelle dénomination est proposée à la rubrique 2 du Formulaire 4032 – Statuts de reconstitution (transition) ou si la corporation est dissoute depuis plus de deux ans.

Le rapport Nuans de recherche de dénominations date de moins de 90 jours.


haut de la page

Résolutions des administrateurs ou membres et procès-verbaux d'assemblées

Ne joignez pas des copies de résolutions d'administrateurs ou de membres approuvant les statuts, ni des copies des procès-verbaux ou comptes rendus des réunions approuvant la reconstitution (transition).

Date de modification :