Notice of intent to amend the Canada Business Corporations Regulations, 2001

From: Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada

Canada Business Corporations Act

Notice of intent to develop regulations for the disclosure of information associated with diversity on boards of directors and among senior management

Notice is hereby given that Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada intends to amend the Canada Business Corporations Regulations, 2001.

Background

Diversity on boards of directors and among senior management continues to be an issue within Canada as well as in other countries. Despite the focus on increasing broad diversity in corporate leadership roles, gaps persist and more work needs to be done at both the board level and in senior management. While the focus has primarily been on gender, the issue of diversity is much broader. At minimum, it includes cultural background, place of origin, disability, or vocational background. Under-representation of different segments of our population is not only a question of fairness, it also affects the bottom line. Viewpoints from a variety of perspectives can lead to innovative thinking and better performance.

This package of regulatory amendments relates to diversity disclosure requirements as established by Bill C-25, An Act to amend the Canada Business Corporations Act, the Canada Cooperatives Act, the Canada Not-for-profit Corporations Act and the Competition Act, which received Royal Assent on May 1, 2018. Bill C-25 stipulated that the prescribed information respecting diversity would be established by regulations.

In his appearance before Parliamentary committees, the Minister referenced the four designated groups under the Employment Equity Act, while recognizing that corporations could be more inclusive. The proposed regulations, that were available to Parliamentary committees and were publicly available on ISED's website shortly after Bill C-25 was tabled, prescribe those four designated groups.

The aim is to bring forward these regulations ahead of the other regulatory amendments associated with Bill C-25 and to have the provisions in force before the 2020 proxy season, the period during which many corporations hold their annual shareholders meetings. The other regulatory amendments required to bring the remaining provisions of Bill C-25 will be implemented soon thereafter.

Proposed approach

Bill C-25 requires certain corporations under the Canada Business Corporations Act to provide shareholders with information on the corporation's policies related to diversity on the board of directors and among senior management on a "comply or explain" basis. The regulatory amendments would specify that:

Timing

The intent is for these regulatory amendments to come into force on June 30, 2019, and for the requirements to be applied to information provided for annual meetings held on or after January 1, 2020.

Next steps

This Notice of Intent provides an opportunity for interested parties to submit comments on the regulatory approach set out above by mail or email before May 22, 2019. Comments received during this public comment period will be taken into consideration and will be summarized in the Regulatory Impact Analysis Statement to be published in the Canada Gazette, Part II. The statement will not contain any personal information that could be used to identify individual stakeholders, and those making submissions should ensure that they do not contain any confidential or personal information. Business contact information will be collected and may be used for future business consultations conducted by Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada.

Contact

Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada
Attention: Coleen Kirby
Manager, Policy Section, Corporations Canada
ic.corporationscanada.ic@canada.ca
Tel: 1-866-333-5556

Date modified:

Avis d'intention de modifier le Règlement sur les sociétés par actions de régime fédéral (2001)

De : Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada

Loi canadienne sur les sociétés par actions

Avis d'intention d'élaborer un règlement sur la présentation de renseignements concernant la diversité au sein des conseils d'administration et de la haute direction

Avis est par la présente donné, qu'Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada a l'intention de modifier le Règlement sur les sociétés par actions de régime fédéral (2001).

Contexte

La diversité au sein des conseils d'administration et de la haute direction continue de poser problème, tant au Canada que dans d'autres pays. Malgré l'accent mis sur une diversité croissante des rôles de direction au sein des sociétés, des lacunes persistent et il reste encore beaucoup à faire, tant au niveau du conseil d'administration que de la haute direction. Bien que l'accent ait été mis principalement sur le genre, la question de la diversité est beaucoup plus vaste. Au minimum, cela inclut les antécédents culturels, le lieu d'origine, la limitation fonctionnelle ou les antécédents professionnels. En plus d'être une question d'équité, la sous-représentation de différents segments de notre population a une incidence sur les résultats. Les points de vue de diverses perspectives peuvent mener à une réflexion novatrice et à une meilleure performance.

Cet ensemble de modifications réglementaires concerne les exigences en matière de divulgation relativement à la diversité établies par le projet de loi C-25, Loi modifiant la Loi canadienne sur les sociétés par actions, la Loi canadienne sur les coopératives, la Loi canadienne sur les organisations à but non lucratif et la Loi sur la concurrence, qui a reçu la sanction royale le 1er mai 2018. Le projet de loi C-25 prévoyait que les renseignements réglementaires concernant la diversité seraient établis par voie de règlement.

Lors de sa comparution devant des comités parlementaires, le ministre a évoqué les quatre groupes désignés en vertu de la Loi sur l'équité en matière d'emploi, tout en reconnaissant que les sociétés pourraient être plus inclusives. Le règlement proposé, mis à la disposition des comités parlementaires et sur le site Web d'ISDE peu après le dépôt du projet de loi C-25, prescrit ces quatre groupes désignés.

L'objectif est de faire avancer ce règlement avant les autres modifications réglementaires associées au projet de loi C-25 et de mettre les dispositions en vigueur avant la saison des procurations de 2020, la période au cours de laquelle de nombreuses sociétés tiennent leurs assemblées annuelles des actionnaires. Les autres modifications réglementaires requises pour mettre en vigueur les dispositions restantes du projet de loi C‑25 seront mises en œuvre peu de temps après.

Approche proposée

Le projet de loi C-25 oblige certaines sociétés, aux termes de la Loi canadienne sur les sociétés par actions, à présenter aux actionnaires des renseignements sur leurs politiques en matière de diversité au sein du conseil d'administration et de la haute direction sur le principe « se conformer ou d'expliquer ». Les modifications réglementaires préciseraient que :

Échéancier

L'intention est que ces modifications réglementaires entrent en vigueur le 30 juin 2019 et que les exigences s'appliquent aux renseignements fournis aux assemblées annuelles tenues à compter du 1er janvier 2020.

Prochaines étapes

Cet avis d'intention offre aux parties intéressées la possibilité de soumettre leurs commentaires sur l'approche réglementaire décrite ci-dessus par la poste ou par courriel avant le 22 mai 2019. Les commentaires reçus au cours de cette période de consultation publique seront pris en compte et inclus dans le Résumé de l'étude d'impact de la réglementation qui sera publié dans la partie II de la Gazette du Canada. Le Résumé ne contiendra aucune information personnelle pouvant être utilisée pour identifier des intervenants. Les personnes qui soumettent des observations doivent s'assurer de ne pas inclure de renseignements confidentiels ou personnels. Les coordonnées des entreprises seront recueillies et pourront être utilisées lors de futures consultations d'entreprise menées par Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada.

Personne-ressource

Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada
À l'attention de : Coleen Kirby
Gestionnaire, Section de la politique, Corporations Canada
ic.corporationscanada.ic@canada.ca
Tél. : 1-866-333-5556

Date de modification :