Annual meetings of federal corporations during the COVID-19 outbreak

By law, federally incorporated businesses and not-for-profit corporations have to hold an annual general meeting (AGM) of shareholders or members every year. This is so that shareholders and members can make governance decisions based on current information, and have confidence to continue to support the business or not-for-profit.

Under normal circumstances, federally incorporated businesses and not-for-profits have to call an AGM within 15 months of the previous annual general meeting and no more than six months after the organization's last financial year-end.

As hosting in-person AGMs during the COVID-19 outbreak would contradict public health advice, we have outlined options for federal corporations to consider in order to remain compliant under the Canada Business Corporations Act and the Canada Not-for-profit Corporations Act.

Hold a virtual meeting

Some corporations have the right to hold meetings virtually using digital technologies. To see if this is a valid option, check the corporation's by-laws to make sure there are no restrictions on participation in meetings by digital means.

Depending on the by-laws, a corporation could have two options:

  1. Virtual meeting: Participants attend exclusively through a digital channel that allows participants to communicate with each other during the meeting. The corporation's by-laws must specifically allow virtual meetings.
  2. Partially virtual meeting: Some participants attend in-person and others participate through a digital channel that allows participants to communicate with each other during the meeting. A partially virtual meeting may be a viable alternative if the by-laws do not permit virtual meetings.

Under both options, participants can vote digitally as long as:

  • it is not prohibited by the corporation's by-laws
  • it complies with regulations, meaning that the corporation gathers votes in a way that allows them to be verified, tallied and presented while maintaining votes anonymous.

If the corporation's by-laws prohibit virtual meetings or are silent on holding them, the board of directors may change the by-laws with the change effective until the next meeting of shareholders or members (when the change can be confirmed or rejected).

Sign a resolution in lieu of a meeting

A practical option for corporations with a small number of shareholders or members is a written resolution instead of an AGM. The resolution must include the business items normally communicated at the AGM. At minimum, this includes:

  • electing directors
  • considering the corporation's financial statements
  • appointing the corporation's auditor or public accountant, or deciding to waive the appointment of an auditor or public accountant.

All shareholders or members who are entitled to vote at the corporation's AGM must sign the written resolution. Once signed, keep the resolution in your corporation's records.

Delay calling the meeting

Not-for-profit corporations can apply to delay calling their AGM when it is detrimental to call the meeting within the normal timeframe. Apply using the online form below at least 30 business days before your not-for-profit would send the notice calling its AGM under normal circumstances.

Apply to delay a not-for-profit corporation's annual meeting due to COVID-19

Federal business corporations need court approval to delay an AGM. If you have any questions, please contact us.

Resources

Canada Business Corporations Act, paragraphs 132(4) and 133(3)

Canada Not-for-profit Corporations Act, paragraph 160(2)

Extending the time for calling an annual meeting of members (Not-for-profit corporations)

Date modified:

Assemblées annuelles des sociétés et organisations à but non lucratif fédérales pendant la COVID-19

Les sociétés et les organisations à but non lucratif de régime fédéral sont légalement tenues d'organiser une assemblée générale annuelle (AGA) des actionnaires ou des membres chaque année. Cette assemblée annuelle a pour but de leur permettre de prendre des décisions de gouvernance fondées sur les renseignements actuels, et de s'assurer de pouvoir continuer à soutenir la société ou l'organisation.

Dans des circonstances normales, les sociétés et les organisations à but non lucratif de régime fédéral doivent organiser une AGA dans les 15 mois suivant l'assemblée générale annuelle précédente, et au plus tard six mois après la fin du dernier exercice financier de la société ou de l'organisation.

Étant donné que la tenue d'assemblées générales en personne pendant la pandémie de COVID-19 irait à l'encontre des conseils de santé publique, nous présentons aux sociétés et aux organisations à but non lucratif de régime fédéral des options à envisager permettant de respecter les dispositions de la Loi canadienne sur les sociétés par actions et de la Loi canadienne sur les organisations à but non lucratif.

Organiser une réunion virtuelle

Certaines sociétés ou organisations ont le droit d'organiser des réunions virtuelles en utilisant les technologies numériques. Pour vérifier s'il s'agit d'une option valide, consultez vos règlements administratifs pour vous assurer qu'ils ne prévoient aucune restriction relative à la tenue de réunions par voie électronique.

Selon les règlements, deux possibilités pourraient s'offrir à une société ou organisation :

  1. Réunion virtuelle : Les participants y assistent exclusivement au moyen d'un canal numérique qui leur permet de communiquer entre eux pendant la réunion. Les règlements de la société ou de l'organisation doivent indiquer clairement l'utilisation des réunions virtuelles.
  2. Réunion partiellement virtuelle : Certains participants y assistent en personne, alors que d'autres y assistent au moyen d'un canal numérique qui leur permet de communiquer avec les autres participants pendant la réunion. Une réunion partiellement virtuelle peut être une autre solution pratique si les règlements ne permettent pas les réunions virtuelles.

Dans les deux cas, les membres peuvent voter par voie électronique, à condition que :

  • les règlements administratifs n'interdisent pas cette façon de voter
  • les règlements soient respectés, c'est-à-dire que les votes de la société ou de l'organisation puissent être vérifiés, comptabilisés et présentés aux participants, tout en préservant l'anonymat du vote.

Si les règlements d'une société ou organisation interdisent les réunions virtuelles ou ne contiennent aucune disposition à ce sujet, le conseil d'administration peut les modifier, et ce changement sera effectif jusqu'à la prochaine réunion des actionnaires ou des membres (lorsque le changement peut être accepté ou rejeté).

Signer une résolution au lieu d'une assemblée

Une option pratique qui s'offre aux sociétés et organisations à but non lucratif, dont le nombre d'actionnaires ou membres est limité, est la résolution écrite au lieu de la tenue d'une AGA. La résolution doit comprendre les items normalement communiqués dans le cadre de l'AGA. Cela doit inclure au moins :

  • l'élection des administrateurs
  • l'examen des états financiers de la société ou de l'organisation
  • la nomination d'un vérificateur ou expert-comptable ou la renonciation à la nomination d'un vérificateur ou expert-comptable.

Tous les actionnaires ou membres qui ont droit de vote à l'occasion de l'AGA de la société ou de l'organisation doivent signer la résolution écrite. Une fois signée, il faut conserver cette résolution dans les livres de la société ou de l'organisation.

Reporter la convocation de l'assemblée

Les organisations à but non lucratif peuvent demander une prolongation du délai de convocation de leur assemblée annuelle lorsqu'il est nuisible de la convoquer en respectant les délais habituels. Faites une demande en remplissant le formulaire en ligne, et ce, au moins 30 jours ouvrables avant la date d'envoi d'un avis de convocation dans des circonstances normales.

Demande de prolongation du délai de convocation de l'assemblée annuelle d'une organisation à but non lucratif en raison de COVID-19

Pour reporter une assemblée générale annuelle, les sociétés par actions constituées en vertu des lois fédérales doivent obtenir l'agrément d'un tribunal. Si vous avez des questions, contactez-nous.

Ressources

Loi canadienne sur les sociétés par actions, paragraphes 132(4) et 133(3)

Loi canadienne sur les organisations à but non lucratif, paragraphe 160(2)

Prolongation des délais pour convoquer une assemblée annuelle des membres (organisations à but non lucratif)

Date de modification :