Language selection

Search

Consultation on regulatory proposals

Purpose of the consultation

Bill C-97 An Act to implement certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on March 19, 2019 and other measures made amendments to the Canada Business Corporations Act (CBCA) concerning executive compensation and the well-being of employees, retirees and pensioners.

The amendments were developed in response to concerns about the security of workplace pensions and following a consultation with stakeholders. The result was a whole-of-government approach with amendments made to the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act, Companies' Creditors Arrangement Act, Canada Business Corporations Act, and Pension Benefits Standards Act, 1985. The aim of the amendments was to enhance retirement security, while ensuring that our economic framework and retirement security laws continue to serve as strong platforms for growth, innovation and good middle class jobs for Canadians.

The CBCA amendments:

Before most of the CBCA amendments in Bill C-97 can come into force, there are details that need to be set out in the regulations to complete the provisions. Innovation, Science and Economic Development (ISED) is seeking feedback and suggestions from stakeholders in relation to the following:

  1. prescribing the corporations that are subject to the new obligations
  2. prescribing the definitions of "members of senior management", "retirees" and "pensioners"
  3. prescribing the time and manner for disclosing the results of the say-on-pay vote
  4. prescribing the information that needs to be disclosed to shareholders about the recovery of incentive and other benefits
  5. prescribing the information that needs to be disclosed to shareholders about the well-being of employees, retirees and pensioners.

Consultations

Issue A: prescribing the corporations that are subject to the new obligations

The intention is for the CBCA amendments to apply to distributing corporations. A distributing corporation is a publicly-traded CBCA corporation.

Question A1. Do you agree that distributing corporations should have the new obligations? Please explain.

Issue B: prescribing the definitions of "members of senior management", "retirees" and "pensioners"

The CBCA amendments use three new terms that can be defined in the regulations. ISED proposes to define the terms to clarify their meaning so that corporations fully understand their obligations.

Members of senior management

Currently the CBCA uses the phrase "members of senior management" in relation to the diversity disclosure provisions. The regulations define the phrase as:

For the purpose of subsection 172.1(1) of the Act members of senior management means, in respect of a distributing corporation, the following individuals:

  1. the chair and vice-chair of the board of directors;
  2. the president of the corporation;
  3. the chief executive officer and chief financial officer;
  4. the vice-president in charge of a principal business unit, division or function, including sales, finance or production; and
  5. an individual who performs a policy-making function in respect of the corporation.

This definition would also be used in relation to the obligations regarding the approach to remuneration and the disclosure on recovery of benefits as they apply to members of senior management.

Retirees and Pensioners

Currently there is no definition of "retirees" or "pensioners" in the CBCA. Both definitions are used in relation to the disclosure to shareholders of information on the well-being of employees, retirees and pensioners. The intent is for the disclosure to cover both a pension received from a corporation as well as other benefits received by employees and retirees, such as health insurance or life insurance. The definitions aim to distinguish between ex-employees who receive a pension ("pensioners") from those who receive other benefits ("retirees"). A person may be both a retiree and a pensioner, or only one. For example, an ex-employee may receive benefits from the corporation before they are eligible for a pension.

For 'retiree', a definition could be:

a person who has concluded their working or professional career with a corporation, and receives or will receive post-employment benefits other than a pension from that corporation.

For 'pensioner', a definition could be:

a person who receives regular payments from a corporation from a fund accumulated during that person's employment with that corporation, or a spouse or dependents of such a person receiving the payments after the person is deceased.

Question B1. Do you agree with the proposed definition of "members of senior management"? Please explain.

Question B2. Do you agree with the proposed definitions of "retirees" and "pensioners"? Please explain.

Question B3. Do you have other suggestions or comments in relation to these definitions?

Issue C: prescribing the time and manner for disclosing the results of the say-on-pay vote

The CBCA amendments require corporations to develop an approach to the remuneration of directors and members of senior management. The approach to remuneration is to be placed before shareholders at each annual meeting and the shareholders are to have a non-binding vote on the approach. The results of that vote are to be disclosed to shareholders. How and when the results are to be disclosed are to be set out in the regulations.

Say-on-pay votes are a common practice around the world. The United Kingdom was the first country to adopt such votes in 2002. Since then, several jurisdictions have adopted a say-on-pay vote including the United States, Australia and SwedenFootnote 1.

The aim of the say-on-pay vote is to establish better oversight of executive compensation and set higher expectations for corporate behaviour by mandating shareholder votes on approaches to compensation and making clear that the best interests of the corporation can include consideration of more than short-term profit and interests.

After the vote, prompt and accessible communication of the results will help to facilitate the engagement of shareholders in corporations' remuneration approaches. Given that, it is proposed that the results of the say-on-pay voting be disclosed by:

  1. Reporting the results at the meeting;
  2. Posting the results on the corporate website, no later than 30 days after the meeting; and
  3. Setting out the results in the next annual general meeting's management proxy circular.

Question C1. Do you agree with the proposed times and manner for providing the results of the say-on-pay vote? Please explain.

Question C2. Do you have other suggestions for the time and manner of the disclosure of the results of the say-on-pay vote?

Issue D: prescribing the information that needs to be disclosed to shareholders about the recovery of incentive and other benefits

The approach to remuneration of directors and members of senior management may include the recovery of incentive and other benefits in certain circumstances. Information on the recovery of incentive and other benefits is to be placed before shareholders at each annual meeting. The information to be disclosed is to be set out in the regulations.

The recovery of incentive and other benefits – often called clawbacks – has become a significant issue in corporate governance and executive compensation. They are a useful tool to mitigate risk by providing corporations with the ability to take back undeserving incentive payments. The Canadian Coalition for Good Governance, the Canada Pension Plan Investment Board and the Financial Stability Forum have advocated for them. Clawbacks are also referenced in the American Sarbanes-Oxley law of 2002 and the UK Corporate Governance Code (July 2018). Although Canada had no law that mandated disclosure about a clawback policy prior to the Bill C-97 amendments, the Canadian Securities Administrators require reporting issuers (publicly-traded companies) to disclose, in the proxy circular, details of any clawback policy they may haveFootnote 2.

ISED proposes that the prescribed information should:

Question D1. Do you agree with the information to be disclosed about recovery? Please explain.

Question D2. Do you have other suggestions for information that should be included or excluded in the disclosure for shareholders on a corporation's recovery policy?

Issue E: prescribing the information that needs to be disclosed to shareholders about the well-being of employees, retirees and pensioners

The CBCA amendments require information about the well-being of employees, retirees and pensioners to be placed before shareholders at each annual meeting. The information to be disclosed is to be set out in the regulations.

The aim of requiring the disclosure of this information is to motivate boards of directors to consider the interests of employees, retirees and pensioners in their decision-making, and to annually report on their policies in this regard.

Disclosure to shareholders about the well-being of employees, retirees and pensioners provides better oversight of corporate behaviour and promotes the interests of the corporation's current and former human resources.

ISED proposes that the prescribed information should:

Question E1. Do you agree with the information to be disclosed about well-being? Please explain.

Question E2. Do you have other suggestions for information that should be included or excluded in the disclosure for shareholders on a corporation's well-being policy?

Feedback

Comments received will be treated as part of the public record and may be made publicly available on ISED's website. Stakeholders wishing to make comments should send their written submissions to Corporations Canada:

By email: ic.corporationscanada.ic@canada.ca

By mail:
Corporations Canada
Innovation, Science, and Economic Development Canada
235 Queen Street, Floor 7
Ottawa ON K1A 0H5

If you have questions about this consultation, please contact Corporations Canada.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Consultation sur les propositions réglementaires

But de la consultation

Le projet de loi C-97, Loi portant exécution de certaines dispositions du budget déposé au Parlement le 19 mars 2019 et mettant en œuvre d'autres mesures, apporte des modifications à la Loi canadienne sur les sociétés par actions (LCSA) concernant la rémunération de la haute direction et le bien-être des employés, des retraités et des pensionnés.

Les modifications ont été élaborées en réponse aux préoccupations relatives à la sécurité des régimes de pension d'employeurs et à la suite d'une consultation avec les parties prenantes. Ce travail a donné lieu à une approche pangouvernementale et aux modifications à la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité, à la Loi sur les arrangements avec les créanciers des compagnies, à la Loi canadienne sur les sociétés par actions et à la Loi de 1985 sur les normes de prestation de pension. En apportant ces modifications, on a cherché à améliorer la sécurité de la retraite tout en veillant à ce que notre cadre économique et nos lois sur la sécurité de la retraite demeurent des assises solides pour la croissance, l'innovation et la création de bons emplois pour la classe moyenne du Canada.

Les modifications de la LCSA :

Avant que la plupart des modifications de la LCSA figurant dans le projet de loi C-97 puissent entrer en vigueur, il faut définir certains éléments dans les règlements pour compléter les dispositions. Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique (ISDE) sollicite les commentaires et les suggestions des parties prenantes sur les points suivants :

  1. désigner les sociétés qui sont assujetties aux nouvelles obligations;
  2. établir les définitions des termes « membres de la haute direction », « retraités » et « pensionnés »;
  3. prévoir le moment et la façon de divulguer les résultats du vote consultatif sur la rémunération;
  4. prescrire les renseignements à communiquer aux actionnaires sur le recouvrement des primes d'encouragement et autres avantages;
  5. prescrire les renseignements à communiquer aux actionnaires sur le bien-être des employés, des retraités et des pensionnés.

Consultations

Question A : Désigner les sociétés qui sont assujetties aux nouvelles obligations

Il est prévu que les modifications à la LCSA s'appliqueront aux sociétés ayant fait appel au public. Une société ayant fait appel au public est une société cotée en bourse constituée en vertu de la LCSA.

Question A1. Êtes-vous d'accord sur le fait que les sociétés ayant fait appel au public devraient être assujetties aux nouvelles obligations ? Veuillez expliquer.

Question B : Établir les définitions des termes « membres de la haute direction », « retraités » et « pensionnés »

Les modifications de la LCSA utilisent trois nouveaux termes qui peuvent être définis dans les règlements. ISDE propose de définir les termes pour clarifier leur sens de façon à ce que les sociétés comprennent pleinement leurs obligations.

Membres de la haute direction

La LCSA utilise actuellement le terme « membres de la haute direction » en relation avec les dispositions relatives à la divulgation des renseignements sur la diversité. Dans la réglementation, le terme est défini comme suit :

« Pour l'application du paragraphe 172.1 (1) de la Loi, membres de la haute direction, à l'égard d'une société ayant fait appel au public, s'entend des personnes physiques ci-après :

  1. le président du conseil d'administration et le vice-président du conseil d'administration;
  2. le président de la société;
  3. le chef de la direction et le chef des finances;
  4. un vice-président responsable de l'une des principales unités d'exploitation, divisions, ou fonctions, notamment les ventes, les finances ou la production;
  5. une personne physique exerçant un pouvoir de décision à l'égard des grandes orientations de la société. »

Cette définition serait également utilisée relativement aux obligations visant l'approche concernant la rémunération et la divulgation des renseignements sur le recouvrement des avantages, lesquelles sont applicables aux membres de la haute direction.

Retraités et pensionnés

Actuellement, la LCSA ne définit pas les termes « retraités » ou « pensionnés ». Les deux termes sont utilisés en relation avec la divulgation aux actionnaires de renseignements sur le bien-être des employés, des retraités et des pensionnés. L'intention est de faire en sorte que la divulgation des renseignements concerne à la fois une pension versée par une société et les autres avantages perçus par les employés et les retraités, comme l'assurance-santé ou l'assurance-vie. Les définitions visent à faire la distinction entre les anciens employés qui touchent une pension (les « pensionnés ») de ceux qui perçoivent d'autres avantages (« retraités »). Une personne peut être à la fois un retraité et un pensionné, ou l'un ou l'autre. Par exemple, un ancien employé peut recevoir des avantages de la société avant de devenir admissible à une pension.

La définition d'un « retraité » pourrait être la suivante :

Une personne ayant terminé sa carrière professionnelle au sein d'une société, qui reçoit ou recevra de cette société des avantages postérieurs à l'emploi autres qu'une pension.

La définition d'un « pensionné » pourrait être la suivante :

Une personne qui perçoit des paiements réguliers d'une société provenant d'un fonds accumulé au cours des années d'emploi de cette personne auprès de la société; ou le conjoint ou la conjointe, ou les enfants à charge de cette personne qui reçoivent ces paiements après le décès de la personne.

Question B1. Êtes-vous d'accord avec la définition proposée des « membres de la haute direction » ? Veuillez expliquer.

Question B2. Êtes-vous d'accord avec la définition proposée des « retraités » et des « pensionnés » ? Veuillez expliquer.

Question B3. Avez-vous d'autres suggestions ou commentaires à formuler sur ces définitions ?

Question C : Prévoir le moment et la façon de divulguer aux actionnaires les résultats du vote consultatif sur la rémunération

Les modifications de la LCSA exigent des sociétés qu'elles élaborent une approche concernant la rémunération des administrateurs et des membres de la haute direction. Cette approche doit être présentée aux actionnaires à chaque assemblée annuelle, et les actionnaires doivent pouvoir se prononcer sur l'approche par un vote non contraignant. Les résultats du vote doivent être divulgués aux actionnaires. Les règlements doivent déterminer quand et comment les résultats doivent être divulgués.

Les votes consultatifs sont une pratique courante dans le monde entier. Le Royaume-Uni a été le premier pays à adopter ce type de vote en 2002. Depuis, plusieurs pays l'ont adopté, notamment les États-Unis, l'Australie et la SuèdeNote de bas de page 1.

Les votes consultatifs visent à mieux encadrer la rémunération de la haute direction et de fixer des attentes plus élevées à l'égard du comportement des sociétés en exigeant un vote des actionnaires sur les approches concernant la rémunération et en indiquant clairement que les meilleurs intérêts de la société peuvent demander la prise en compte de facteurs autres que les profits et les intérêts à court terme.

Après le vote, une communication rapide et accessible des résultats contribuera à faciliter l'engagement des actionnaires à l'égard des approches des sociétés concernant la rémunération. Dans cette optique, il est proposé que les résultats du vote consultatif sur la rémunération soient divulgués par les méthodes suivantes :

  1. présenter les résultats à l'assemblée;
  2. afficher les résultats sur le site Web de la société, au plus tard dans les 30 jours qui suivent l'assemblée générale annuelle;
  3. présenter les résultats dans la circulaire de procuration que prépare la direction pour la prochaine assemblée générale annuelle.

Question C1. Êtes-vous d'accord avec le moment et la façon de divulguer les résultats du vote consultatif ? Veuillez expliquer.

Question C2. Avez-vous d'autres suggestions à formuler sur le moment et la façon de divulguer les résultats du vote consultatif sur la rémunération ?

Question D : Prescrire les renseignements à divulguer aux actionnaires sur le recouvrement des primes d'encouragement et autres avantages

L'approche concernant la rémunération des administrateurs et des membres de la haute direction peut comprendre le recouvrement des primes et autres avantages dans certaines circonstances. Les renseignements sur le recouvrement des primes et autres avantages doivent être présentés aux actionnaires à chaque assemblée annuelle. Ces renseignements doivent être définis dans les règlements.

Les mesures de recouvrement des primes et autres avantages (aussi appelées « clauses de récupération ») sont devenues une question importante pour la gouvernance des entreprises et la rémunération de la haute direction. C'est un instrument utile pour atténuer le risque en donnant aux sociétés la possibilité de recouvrer les primes d'encouragement non méritées. La Coalition canadienne pour une bonne gouvernance, l'Office d'investissement du régime de pensions du Canada et le Forum sur la stabilité financière ont fait la promotion de cette solution. Les clauses de récupération figurent également dans la loi Sarbanes-Oxley de 2002 aux États-Unis et dans le Corporate Governance Code du Royaume-Uni (juillet 2018). Bien que le Canada ne disposait d'aucune loi exigeant la divulgation d'une politique à cet égard avant les modifications du projet de loi C-97, les Autorités canadiennes en valeurs mobilières exigent des émetteurs assujettis (sociétés cotées en bourse) qu'ils divulguent, dans la circulaire de procuration, les détails de toute politique de récupération qu'ils pourraient avoirNote de bas de page 2.

ISDE propose ce qui suit pour les renseignements prescrits :

Question D1. Êtes-vous d'accord avec les renseignements à divulguer en ce qui concerne le recouvrement ? Veuillez expliquer.

Question D2. Avez-vous d'autres suggestions à formuler au sujet des renseignements à inclure ou à exclure dans la divulgation aux actionnaires de la politique de recouvrement d'une société ?

Question E : Prescrire les renseignements à divulguer aux actionnaires sur le bien-être des employés, des retraités et de pensionnés

Les modifications de la LCSA exigent que des renseignements sur le bien-être des employés, des retraités et des pensionnés soient présentés aux actionnaires à chaque assemblée annuelle. Ces renseignements doivent être définis dans les règlements.

L'obligation de divulguer ces renseignements vise à inciter les conseils d'administration à tenir compte, dans leur prise de décision, des intérêts des employés, des retraités et des pensionnés, et à rendre compte chaque année de leurs politiques à cet égard.

La divulgation aux actionnaires de renseignements sur le bien-être des employés, des retraités et des pensionnés permet de mieux encadrer le comportement de la société et de promouvoir les intérêts de ses ressources humaines actuelles et anciennes.

ISDE propose ce qui suit pour les renseignements prescrits :

Question E1. Êtes-vous d'accord avec les renseignements à divulguer en ce qui concerne le bien-être ? Veuillez expliquer.

Question E2. Avez-vous d'autres suggestions à formuler au sujet des renseignements à inclure ou à exclure dans la divulgation aux actionnaires de la politique de la société relative au bien-être ?

Commentaires

Les commentaires reçus seront traités comme faisant partie du dossier public et pourraient être rendus publics sur le site Web d'ISDE. Les parties prenantes qui souhaitent faire des commentaires doivent envoyer leurs observations écrites à Corporations Canada :

Par courrier électronique : ic.corporationscanada.ic@ised-isde.gc.ca

Par la poste :
Corporations Canada
Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada
235, rue Queen, 7e étage
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0H5

Si vous avez des questions à poser au sujet de cette consultation, veuillez communiquer avec Corporations Canada.

Date de modification :